Search results

  1. poolboy17

    Help needed: Frozen balls!!

    This is a pretty good explanation. The only thing I would add is that it doesn't make a difference how far apart the cueball and object ball are (unless frozen). Granted, the closer together they are the more likely a foul will occur. If they're dead frozen...you may shoot through it with a...
  2. poolboy17

    Archer Gets Down, Can You Believe It???

    In IPT play there's no shot clock. So, as long a you don't move a ball or your shot doesn't take too much time (like trying to shark opponent)...then it's ok. FYI, there were other players who seem hyper aware of these things also. I won't mention any names but some players are acutely aware of...
  3. poolboy17

    T.V. Time for the IPT King of the Hill Invitational

    Last I heard Saturday...they didn't have any definitive dates. Every single match was recorded, leading to hundreds of hours worth of tape each day. It's definitely going to be a process.
  4. poolboy17

    How are balls racked and how are players breaking?

    Yes, it seemed some players had problems breaking. However, I'd also say that for the most part...balls were being made most of the time. Certain players were able to pocket a ball in the left side pocket quite often. The ball would leave the rack and head straight for the side. Amazing control!
  5. poolboy17

    Manalo's First Loss Sux

    You raise some valid issues. I'm pretty sure that part of the reason they did it that way was to eliminate stalemates. However, it's funny that hardly anyone tried to expolit that rule. As someone else pointed out, to the best of my knowledge as well...there was only one successful effort to 3...
  6. poolboy17

    Manalo's First Loss Sux

    What convinced you that you were wrong? Manalo was closest to the ball- the ref was 10ft away, as were the spectators and he said it was good. The poster above is obviously one of the refs so his account could be biased.[ he went from 'I' to 'we'.] Look where the ref is.[ Gabber I was one...
  7. poolboy17

    Manalo's First Loss Sux

    Just to let you know (no, I wasn't the one who made the call) but I was in the area...the ref called the foul first. While approaching the table...he said it only loud enough that Manalo could hear him. That's when Manalo got upset and said it wasn't a foul. Manalo turned around to the crowd and...
  8. poolboy17

    How are balls racked and how are players breaking?

    Balls were racked using the new Sardo M-5000 rack. Players had the option of racking for themselves, opponent racking or ref racking. I'd say the vast majority of them racked for themselves. From what I saw, no one was soft breaking. You couldn't really because you had to break from the break...
  9. poolboy17

    8-ball 3 Foul Rule

    That's kind of the crux of the problem. Yes, there are more balls to hit BUT there are also more balls to hide you too. I guess I don't see it as a loop hole. I've played for over twenty years and have rarely seen a situation like this. I have refereed national and state tournaments for years...
  10. poolboy17

    8-ball 3 Foul Rule

    It's probably because it would be much easier to get three consecutive fouls in 8 ball. If you give a good player ball in hand after every foul...you may lose a match and never get a real shot. Well, if you end up in this situation...why should one player have a rule advantage over the other...
  11. poolboy17

    Push option after Foul?

    Correct. You may push out only after the initial break. The break is considered to have begun when the cue makes contact with the cueball.
  12. poolboy17

    Is this a foul?

    It depends on the game the writer was speaking of. I presumed he was talking eight ball. However, in nine ball...a break foul would be ball in hand. Going back to the original post, I now see that nine ball was briefly mentioned. I missed that detail before posting.
  13. poolboy17

    Is this a foul?

    If I understand your question correctly...you're asking what the ruling is if a player executes a shot but accidently (or otherwise) touches a ball that is still moving? It is a foul. You cannot intentionally or unintentionally impede the progress of a moving ball. If the ball is...
  14. poolboy17

    Is this a foul?

    If a legal break is not executed...it is as you say. A re-rack with opponent breaking. BCA/ACS National Referee
  15. poolboy17

    Is this a foul?

    I have been witness to it happening. Unlikely, yes. However, it has and could happen.
  16. poolboy17

    Is this a foul?

    I am a BCA / ACS National referee. The last post is exactly right. It is a foul and it is to the referee's discretion whether the game can be salvaged. If the table could be cleaned and the balls restored (one or two balls disturbed)...then the game could continued. If however (in the more...
Back
Top