One Last Try, Concentration.

Fenwick

AzB Silver Member
Silver Member
Since 2007 I've been trying to reach the level of pool I achieved in my youth. I was pretty good at running a rack or three at age 13. Being self taught I really had no idea exactly where whitey was going. I was just a shot maker with young eyes.

Then I moved away from pool for many other sports and hobbies and my affliction, work. One of those hobbies was table tennis.

I was beginning to get back on track after taking lessons, practicing and playing. For me that meant getting into the next rack; 14/1. I hit some 20's, 30's and even a 40 something ball runs. Then my pool game was interrupted again for a year. Life outside of pool.

So now I'm back and I think is my biggest hurtle is concentration or lack there of. Some days I can't run three balls without taking my eye off the ball at the last second.

So here's my brain storm; table tennis. I picked up another robot, ( had one before ), and I'm using it to develop fitness and concentration. I figure if I can keep my eye on the little ball for a long period of time I might train my mind to concentrate better and longer at the table; task at hand. The robot holds a gross of balls or more. In the past I could go a hour or more without missing a single ball.

I'll monitor this thread if it takes off and report back if it's a brain storm or a brain fart. Either way I have nothing to lose.

Constructive criticism welcome.

BarneyCalip

AzB Silver Member
Silver Member
Not sure why I also can't concentrate?

Fenwick, I too have been taking my eye's off the ball at the last minute.

Hal Mix told me to aim the ball to the back of the pocket.
Stay down on your shot till after the ball goes in, and watch it fall into the exact location you aimed in the pocket.

By seeing where the ball goes you can verify your aim.

Hal would say somedays you would have tendencies to hit to the right, left or center of your pocket.
This really helps me with my banks.