Question (Help!)
Old
  (#1)
powerlineman80
AzB Silver Member
powerlineman80 has a reputation beyond reputepowerlineman80 has a reputation beyond reputepowerlineman80 has a reputation beyond reputepowerlineman80 has a reputation beyond reputepowerlineman80 has a reputation beyond reputepowerlineman80 has a reputation beyond reputepowerlineman80 has a reputation beyond reputepowerlineman80 has a reputation beyond reputepowerlineman80 has a reputation beyond reputepowerlineman80 has a reputation beyond reputepowerlineman80 has a reputation beyond repute
 
powerlineman80's Avatar
 
Status: Offline
Posts: 2,003
vCash: 500
iTrader: 1 / 100%
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Sweet Home Alabama
  Send a message via Yahoo to powerlineman80  
Question (Help!) - 05-30-2020, 03:02 PM

This may sound stupid but I have a question me and my brother ran into shooting straight pool the other night and we gave up after 30 minutes of searching and just started back up.

Here was the scenario:

I was shooting into a 4 ball combo with the 4 on the end and what I called into the corner to be safe. I mis-hit the shot and the 4 never moved, but the cue did hit the first ball in line with the combo and the cue did hit a rail afterwards.

Was that a foul or legit shot? Neither one of us was fussing over it as we have never really run into that before where we called a ball that was not hit but a legal hit (we think) came from the miss as like I said the cue did hit a ball and a rail.

Should that have been a foul or was it legal?
  
Reply With Quote

Old
  (#2)
Bob Jewett
AZB Osmium Member
Bob Jewett has a reputation beyond reputeBob Jewett has a reputation beyond reputeBob Jewett has a reputation beyond reputeBob Jewett has a reputation beyond reputeBob Jewett has a reputation beyond reputeBob Jewett has a reputation beyond reputeBob Jewett has a reputation beyond reputeBob Jewett has a reputation beyond reputeBob Jewett has a reputation beyond reputeBob Jewett has a reputation beyond reputeBob Jewett has a reputation beyond repute
 
Bob Jewett's Avatar
 
Status: Offline
Posts: 18,207
vCash: 1700
iTrader: 14 / 100%
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Berkeley, CA
   
05-30-2020, 03:52 PM

Quote:
Originally Posted by powerlineman80 View Post
This may sound stupid but I have a question me and my brother ran into shooting straight pool the other night and we gave up after 30 minutes of searching and just started back up.

Here was the scenario:

I was shooting into a 4 ball combo with the 4 on the end and what I called into the corner to be safe. I mis-hit the shot and the 4 never moved, but the cue did hit the first ball in line with the combo and the cue did hit a rail afterwards.

Was that a foul or legit shot? Neither one of us was fussing over it as we have never really run into that before where we called a ball that was not hit but a legal hit (we think) came from the miss as like I said the cue did hit a ball and a rail.

Should that have been a foul or was it legal?
You are not required to move the ball you called, and you did not commit any foul.

It turns out that the official rules for 14.1 have an error in that "wrong ball first" fouls are included in the list of possible fouls. Since you are never required to hit a particular ball first "wrong ball first" never applies to 14.1. (A separate rule governs foul play behind the line with ball in hand.)


Bob Jewett
SF Billiard Academy
  
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#3)
powerlineman80
AzB Silver Member
powerlineman80 has a reputation beyond reputepowerlineman80 has a reputation beyond reputepowerlineman80 has a reputation beyond reputepowerlineman80 has a reputation beyond reputepowerlineman80 has a reputation beyond reputepowerlineman80 has a reputation beyond reputepowerlineman80 has a reputation beyond reputepowerlineman80 has a reputation beyond reputepowerlineman80 has a reputation beyond reputepowerlineman80 has a reputation beyond reputepowerlineman80 has a reputation beyond repute
 
powerlineman80's Avatar
 
Status: Offline
Posts: 2,003
vCash: 500
iTrader: 1 / 100%
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Sweet Home Alabama
  Send a message via Yahoo to powerlineman80  
05-30-2020, 09:14 PM

Thanks! We thought that it was still a legal shot but we were scratching our heads on whether it was truly legal or not according to the rules. We couldn’t find it so it confused us even more. Thanks again!
  
Reply With Quote
Foul?
Old
  (#4)
DynoDan
AzB Silver Member
DynoDan has a reputation beyond reputeDynoDan has a reputation beyond reputeDynoDan has a reputation beyond reputeDynoDan has a reputation beyond reputeDynoDan has a reputation beyond reputeDynoDan has a reputation beyond reputeDynoDan has a reputation beyond reputeDynoDan has a reputation beyond reputeDynoDan has a reputation beyond reputeDynoDan has a reputation beyond reputeDynoDan has a reputation beyond repute
 
DynoDan's Avatar
 
Status: Offline
Posts: 450
vCash: 500
iTrader: 1 / 100%
Join Date: May 2018
   
Foul? - 05-31-2020, 03:33 PM

This issue got me thinking about another ‘foul’ question: When you shoot a called ball straight into the pocket, but so softly it hangs on the lip, that is obviously a foul (no rail contacted). BUT, if shot too hard, and it bounces directly back from the GC plastic pocket liner onto the table (technically, still no ‘rail’ contacted), I assume THAT would be a legal shot? Don’t recall if the rules are that specific.
  
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#5)
fiftyyardline
AzB Silver Member

fiftyyardline has a reputation beyond reputefiftyyardline has a reputation beyond reputefiftyyardline has a reputation beyond reputefiftyyardline has a reputation beyond reputefiftyyardline has a reputation beyond reputefiftyyardline has a reputation beyond reputefiftyyardline has a reputation beyond reputefiftyyardline has a reputation beyond reputefiftyyardline has a reputation beyond reputefiftyyardline has a reputation beyond reputefiftyyardline has a reputation beyond repute
 
Status: Offline
Posts: 107
vCash: 500
iTrader: 3 / 100%
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Dallas, Tx
   
05-31-2020, 09:32 PM

Quote:
Originally Posted by DynoDan View Post
This issue got me thinking about another ‘foul’ question: When you shoot a called ball straight into the pocket, but so softly it hangs on the lip, that is obviously a foul (no rail contacted). BUT, if shot too hard, and it bounces directly back from the GC plastic pocket liner onto the table (technically, still no ‘rail’ contacted), I assume THAT would be a legal shot? Don’t recall if the rules are that specific.
If it hit any part of the pocket - that counts the same as contacting a rail - so legal hit.
  
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump



Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.9
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
vBulletin Security provided by vBSecurity (Lite) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2020 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.