Huebler weight bolt

youngstownkid

AzB Silver Member
Silver Member
Was it common for “weight bolts” to be epoxied in back in the day and used as connectors? I’m new at this (so there a ton that will surprise me) of course, but I was surprised to see that this weight bolt was used to join the butt cap to the sleeve. Wasn’t expecting I’d need to use the torch for this cracked butt cap repair job...

So my question is...was the original Huebler work, or a repair done this way?
d4c3a61352ee1a9d20e2195b84455868.jpg

220ef9e806bb18ef92a3eef55c5bde3d.jpg

Michael Webb

AzB Silver Member
Silver Member
Was it common for “weight bolts” to be epoxied in back in the day and used as connectors? I’m new at this (so there a ton that will surprise me) of course, but I was surprised to see that this weight bolt was used to join the butt cap to the sleeve. Wasn’t expecting I’d need to use the torch for this cracked butt cap repair job...

So my question is...was the original Huebler work, or a repair done this way?

The way you found and also this way. Double threaded aluminum sleeve that the butt cap screwed on to, combined with the bolt for weight. Both standard for Heubler cues.

IMG_20181014_234155.jpg

Chopdoc

AzB Silver Member
Silver Member
The way you found and also this way. Double threaded aluminum sleeve that the butt cap screwed on to, combined with the bolt for weight. Both standard for Heubler cues.

View attachment 502651

Yup. Both ways as we have seen posted here before.

Typically they are epoxied in from what I have seen here.

This is a pic I found that have linked before that shows the arrangement you depicted.

It seems Paul Huebler did not intend for his cue weight to be adjusted by the user.

000_6307.jpg

Michael Webb

AzB Silver Member
Silver Member
Yup. Both ways as we have seen posted here before.

Typically they are epoxied in from what I have seen here.

This is a pic I found that have linked before that shows the arrangement you depicted.