10-ball rules: Miscue on the break, rack not touched?

7stud

AzB Silver Member
Silver Member
Situation: breaking player miscues, the cue ball rolls down to the end rail and back to the middle of the table without ever hitting the rack. According to the WPA rules:

6.3 LEGAL BREAK SHOT
The following rules apply to the break shot:
(a) the cue-ball begins in hand above the Head String; and
(b) if no object-ball is pocketed, at least four object-balls must be driven to one or
more rails, or the shot is a foul.

So, it's a foul, but I can't find anything in the WPA rules that addresses what happens next. Can the incoming player use ball in hand to put the cue ball within three inches of the 1-ball at the head of the rack, graze the 1-ball, and stick the cue ball on the back of the rack?

I would really like to know where this situation is addressed in the WPA rules.
 
Last edited:
Situation: breaking player miscues, the cue ball rolls into the end rail and back to the middle of the table without ever hitting the rack. According to the WPA rules:



So, it's a foul, but I can't find anything in the WPA rules that addresses what happens next. Can the incoming player use ball in hand to put the cue ball within three inches of the 1-ball at the head of the rack, graze the 1-ball, and stick the cue ball on the back of the rack?

I would really like to know where in the WPA rules this situation is addressed.

Yes, of course you can do this. It is the standard play in 9b and has been for decades.

It’s not addressed separately- it flows from the other rules. It is a foul (as you note). It is BIH. Any legal shot you shot next is legal (thin the 1b and hit a rail and you are good). Breaker is now on one foul - and has to avoid 3 fouling. Sometimes the only play for thr breaker is to take a deliberate foul by blasting open the rack and hoping for a better chance when you are on 2 fouls.
 
I should add that sometimes you see the non breaker just break a normal break shot. This is legal but technically the next shot after that is a normal shot (i.e., neither player could play a push shot) and if you the breaker fouls on his next inning he’d be on 2 fouls. I don’t think I’ve ever seen anyone do this, however - usually people just treat the second “break” as a normal break shot.
 
I should add that sometimes you see the non breaker just break a normal break shot. This is legal but technically the next shot after that is a normal shot (i.e., neither player could play a push shot) and if you the breaker fouls on his next inning he’d be on 2 fouls. I don’t think I’ve ever seen anyone do this, however - usually people just treat the second “break” as a normal break shot.

you can also break closer to the rack, and if there's a break box involved, outside the break box
 
Locally, we handle that by a re-rack (if the balls were disturbed) and the other player breaks. No foul. Just losing the break is the penalty. If it’s an alt break format, that means the same player breaks 3 times in a row.
 
There must be video somewhere of a pro match break miscue, with the opponent going for 3 fouls off of a full stack.
 
Locally, we handle that by a re-rack (if the balls were disturbed) and the other player breaks. No foul. Just losing the break is the penalty. If it’s an alt break format, that means the same player breaks 3 times in a row.

Is that just for 10b, or 9b too? Also, where is this - just curious as I’ve never seen this practice in tournament play.
 
Back
Top