8-ball break

RAZOR ROG

AzB Silver Member
Silver Member
I'd like some opinions. In a local 8-ball tourney, player A steps up to break, miscues and sends the Q-ball 3 rails around the stack, never touching a ball. What should happen next? My thoughts are that it is a foul, and player B gets a shot at the break. It's amazing how many different opinions I'm getting around here! What do you think?
 
RAZOR ROG said:
I'd like some opinions. In a local 8-ball tourney, player A steps up to break, miscues and sends the Q-ball 3 rails around the stack, never touching a ball. What should happen next? My thoughts are that it is a foul, and player B gets a shot at the break. It's amazing how many different opinions I'm getting around here! What do you think?

Play B has ball in hand in the kitchen. Player B breaks.
 
Wow, 77 views and only one person had an opinion. Must not be such an obvious answer. Thanks crocs.
 
Bca Rule

BCA said:
4.5 LEGAL BREAK SHOT
(Defined) To execute a legal break, the breaker (with the cue ball behind the head string) must either (1) pocket a ball, or (2) drive at least four numbered balls to the rail. When the breaker fails to make a legal break, it is a foul, and the incoming player has the option of (1) accepting the table in position and shooting, or (2) having the balls re-racked and having the option of shooting the opening break or allowing the offending player to re-break.

Hopefully this answers your question.
 
RAZOR ROG said:
I'd like some opinions. In a local 8-ball tourney, player A steps up to break, miscues and sends the Q-ball 3 rails around the stack, never touching a ball. What should happen next? My thoughts are that it is a foul, and player B gets a shot at the break. It's amazing how many different opinions I'm getting around here! What do you think?
BCA rules allows Player B the option to break or have Player A re-break.

I believe APA rules allow Player A to rebreak.

Fred
 
RAZOR ROG said:
In a local 8-ball tourney, player A steps up to break, miscues and sends the Q-ball 3 rails around the stack, never touching a ball. What should happen next?

Depends on the League. If you are playing APA rules, Player A would rebreak. Player B only gets to break if Player A scratches. If you playing are bar rules, you probably have to repeat the same 3-cushion attempt :p
 
hobokenapa said:
If you are playing APA rules, Player A would rebreak. Player B only gets to break if Player A scratches.

If I am not mistaken, in APA, player A re-breaks. However, failure to execute a legal break on the second attempt will result in Player B having the break.
 
landshark77 said:
If I am not mistaken, in APA, player A re-breaks. However, failure to execute a legal break on the second attempt will result in Player B having the break.
Actually, by APA rules Player A keeps trying until there is a legal break (ball pocketed or 4 balls to a rail) or there is a foul after the rack is struck.

If Player A hits the rack without a legal break and then scratches, Player B breaks. But APA rules say "the rack must be struck before a foul can occur." So if he miscues the CB into a pocket without hitting the stack, he's still breaking.

Walt in VA
 
Back
Top