8 Ball rule ?

MT Pockets

Registered
A member on my team was up to shoot he had only one ball and the eight left . The eight was was in a cluster but he had a window to make it in the side pocket if he got in the target zone. When he was measuring for the zone for the eight ball he place his stick on the table where thc contact point should be and the chalk marked the table. He did not do this on purpose but it happened, when he shot the ob he got in the zone and was able to pocket the eight like he had planned. The opposing team warned him that he marked the table but they did not call a foul. How would you guys rule on this. I hope that I described this clear enough. Thanks for your input. TG
 
Wouldnt bother me one bit, but I take league very casually. If its a basically straight in shot I just assume he is going for the pocket. If it seems a bit difficult I will ask for the opponant to verify the pocket he is intending the object ball to go in.
 
MT Pockets said:
A member on my team was up to shoot he had only one ball and the eight left . The eight was was in a cluster but he had a window to make it in the side pocket if he got in the target zone. When he was measuring for the zone for the eight ball he place his stick on the table where thc contact point should be and the chalk marked the table. He did not do this on purpose but it happened, when he shot the ob he got in the zone and was able to pocket the eight like he had planned. The opposing team warned him that he marked the table but they did not call a foul. How would you guys rule on this. I hope that I described this clear enough. Thanks for your input. TG
I'm assuming this was wonderfull APA? This happened to us a couple of times during timeouts. If he did mark the table, accident or not, it is a foul if he/someone doesn't remove the mark before the shot, they have to call the foul before the 8ball is made or it doesn't matter. Just like if a player starts shooting in the wrong balls and is not corrected by the other player,that player shooting the wrong balls hits in the 8ball,he/she is awarded the game anyway if no foul was called before the 8ball went in. There are new updates to the APA rules so you will have to look them up as I don't play APA anymore....Ron
 
sk8ordie said:
I'm assuming this was wonderfull APA? This happened to us a couple of times during timeouts. If he did mark the table, accident or not, it is a foul if he/someone doesn't remove the mark before the shot, they have to call the foul before the 8ball is made or it doesn't matter. Just like if a player starts shooting in the wrong balls and is not corrected by the other player,that player shooting the wrong balls hits in the 8ball,he/she is awarded the game anyway if no foul was called before the 8ball went in. There are new updates to the APA rules so you will have to look them up as I don't play APA anymore....Ron

I don't know APA but in BCA is a foul also, even if the mark is removed and gets first warning for unsportsmanlike conduct. BCA rule says it is for intentional marking, but I would suspect that if you put chalk on the tip and then you put the tip on the table, that would be construed as intentional(even if it wasn't). So take care.

Here is BCA wording.


1.39 Illegal Marking

It is a foul if you intentionally mark the table in any way to assist you in executing any shot or future shot. Marking includes the deliberate placement of chalk or any other object at a specific point on a rail or cushion to aid the alignment of a shot, or placing any mark on any part of the table. The foul occurs at the moment you attempt to mark the table, regardless of whether you remove the mark, or whether a shot is taken.
In addition to any penalty required by specific game rules, an unsportsmanlike conduct warning must be issued; a second violation results in loss of game; a third violation results in loss of match.
 
Last edited:
MT Pockets said:
A member on my team was up to shoot he had only one ball and the eight left . The eight was was in a cluster but he had a window to make it in the side pocket if he got in the target zone. When he was measuring for the zone for the eight ball he place his stick on the table where thc contact point should be and the chalk marked the table. He did not do this on purpose but it happened, when he shot the ob he got in the zone and was able to pocket the eight like he had planned. The opposing team warned him that he marked the table but they did not call a foul. How would you guys rule on this. I hope that I described this clear enough. Thanks for your input. TG

they should have said something before he took his shot. they couldn't call it a foul after the fact.

i had this happen to me before during league. they have to call it before he takes his shot.
 
I think you are right but they did not call a foul. Just warned him not to do it again.
 
I know this is going to go over like a fart in church but, marking the table in the APA is not a foul. It's not allowed either. You would first warn the the player and if he/she continues it would be a sportsmanship violation. Which could result in BIH, loss of game, or loss of match. However keep in mind they have to mark the PLAYING SURFACE which is the cloth cover portion of the table.
 
You can put a piece of chalk on the non cloth covered portion of the rail and use it to aim at/ mark whatever.This is in the APA, I do not think you can do this in the BCA or VNEA. One of these leagues specifically addresses this situation and it would be a foul.
 
This is what happened on our team,once with chalk and once for finger sweat as the other team claimed on a rail to show a bank shot. We were called on this(foul,BIN) during a time out so we made sure we didn't touch anything in the future. Reading this from the updated APA rule book,it still doesn't say it's a foul. I guess they got away with a few.

f. Coaches may place the cue ball for a player in a ball-in-hand situation
during a time-out. Coaches may not mark the playing surface of the
table, or guide the shooter?s cue. The coach must leave the playing area
before the shooter attempts the shot.
 
TheNewSharkster said:
A quick scan of the rules says nothing about marking the table in apa

http://www.poolplayers.com/tmanual.pdf

It's under the General Rules section on page 26.

"f. Coaches may place the cue ball for a player in a ball-in-hand situation
during a time-out. Coaches may not mark the playing surface of the
table, or guide the shooter's cue. The coach must leave the playing area
before the shooter attempts the shot."

Also, be sure and check your local APA League bylaws. Local league operators put rules there too.
 
Last edited:
MT Pockets said:
A member on my team was up to shoot he had only one ball and the eight left . The eight was was in a cluster but he had a window to make it in the side pocket if he got in the target zone. When he was measuring for the zone for the eight ball he place his stick on the table where thc contact point should be and the chalk marked the table. He did not do this on purpose but it happened, when he shot the ob he got in the zone and was able to pocket the eight like he had planned. The opposing team warned him that he marked the table but they did not call a foul. How would you guys rule on this. I hope that I described this clear enough. Thanks for your input. TG

I use the tip of my cue to aim my hit spot all of the time, however, I do not do so to mark the table. In APA,TAP and BCA it has never been an issue or even brought up. It has been brought up in tournament play...and I was warned...and proceeded to use a different method of sighting. I think a warning is appropriate. Easy habit to change when you have to.
 
leehayes said:
I use the tip of my cue to aim my hit spot all of the time, however, I do not do so to mark the table. In APA,TAP and BCA it has never been an issue or even brought up. It has been brought up in tournament play...and I was warned...and proceeded to use a different method of sighting. I think a warning is appropriate. Easy habit to change when you have to.

Agree, as long as you are careful not to leave a mark on the table. Just apply chalk after you line up the shot.

I have repeatedy seem a player intentionally leave chalk marks under the rail when lining up kick and bank shots and not get called for it.. I was not playing and said nothing. If I had been playing, I would have called him on it. This was not in league play.

Some people do it unintentionally and some on purpose. Who is the judge as to who is who?
 
ronhudson said:
It's under the General Rules section on page 26.

"f. Coaches may place the cue ball for a player in a ball-in-hand situation
during a time-out. Coaches may not mark the playing surface of the
table, or guide the shooter's cue. The coach must leave the playing area
before the shooter attempts the shot."

Also, be sure and check your local APA League bylaws. Local league operators put rules there too.


I saw that but the person who created the topic wasn't talking about a timeout situation. I still don't see anything saying you cannot mark the table yourself.
 
TheNewSharkster said:
I saw that but the person who created the topic wasn't talking about a timeout situation. I still don't see anything saying you cannot mark the table yourself.

That is right and I have read this before and never realized it was only referring to coaching. I know that you will get called on it in every league I have played in (most of them). I'll ask the league operator for an opinion about why it's not in the rules book.
 
Back
Top