8 ball safety

Rule books can be a confusing mess.

Just re-read my rule books, that's not in any of them. But in my ACS rule book it says the same object ball can hit the same rail for a legal hit. Which for the last couple years, if that rule is right, our league director has ****ed up.

The BCAPL over the last few years has started to clarify more of them. By the way, the guy who was involved in the ref making the wrong call this past weekend, saw the link posted on FB. I think he got the raw end of that call.
 
Just re-read my rule books, that's not in any of them. But in my ACS rule book it says the same object ball can hit the same rail for a legal hit. Which for the last couple years, if that rule is right, our league director has ****ed up.

Yes,I believe the rule used to be that way but no longer. You can hit the same rail as a frozen ball and be a good hit.
Your LD is wrong. Let him know,,Im sure he will not mind the education.

If you have ever done it,,,it does not seem right while shooting it.lol
 
The BCAPL over the last few years has started to clarify more of them. By the way, the guy who was involved in the ref making the wrong call this past weekend, saw the link posted on FB. I think he got the raw end of that call.

Well it's like the cue ball frozen to an object ball rule. There are people out there that think you must jack up to a 45 degree angle or more for it to be a legal hit, when you don't. I personally like the people who claim they used to be a ref back in the 80's claiming they know all the rules, and then on their very first shot, they commit a foul.

I've been always told that the object ball that is frozen to a rail is considered dead to that rail, and must contact a different rail, but the cue ball can contact any rail. But I guess by the end of the year, WPA and others will have the rule clarified.
 
BCA and VNEA

Well it's like the cue ball frozen to an object ball rule. There are people out there that think you must jack up to a 45 degree angle or more for it to be a legal hit, when you don't. I personally like the people who claim they used to be a ref back in the 80's claiming they know all the rules, and then on their very first shot, they commit a foul.

I've been always told that the object ball that is frozen to a rail is considered dead to that rail, and must contact a different rail, but the cue ball can contact any rail. But I guess by the end of the year, WPA and others will have the rule clarified.

Both leagues have a different rule when the cue ball is frozen to the object ball. I check this rule every spring, just in case. This rule has changed a bit. VNEA, you still have to elevate 45* but BCA you can shoot with a level cue and "normal stroke". I ain't sure about APA,

I got a foul called a couple years ago at BCA in Vegas, {by a ref} for shooting a ball that was declared frozen to the cue ball, because I jacked up at a 45 so my cue ball didn't go all the way down the table. I tried to get him to clarify why that's a foul, and he said I have to hit it with a normal stroke. Made no sense to me at all.
 
Back
Top