8ball rule question that you never ask :D

peter_gunn

])3a]) s']['rok3
Silver Member
Only Croats can ask something like this:

On break incoming player pockets all solids.

1. Can he choose solids and play black ball?
2 if he can, and miss the 8 ball, can incoming player also play 8ball becasue table is still open ?

:thumbup::D:thumbup::D:thumbup::D

:withstupid:
 
Haha! I like this question almost as much as your avatar!!! :thumbup:

I don't know the official rule on this but I guess it depends on the rules you play-

Open break- Table is still open after the break. Since no solids remain (8ball is neither solid or stipe) you couldn't claim solids by shooting one. Logically you would have to go after stripes

Closed break- What you hit in is what you are. In this case, as long as no stripes also went down, you would be solids and shooting on the 8ball.

These are just my opinions.
 
LOL wow thats a crazy good question, granted if the balls are racked correctly i doubt it would ever happen. But I would love to hear what the rule would consist of.

-JD
 
Question

1) You would declare you are taking solids and shoot the 8 ball.
if you missed the 8 ball, your opponent could then declare solids and shoot the 8 ball.

NOTE: A group chosen is not set in stone until a ball is made. Since no solids remain, this ball then becomes the 8 ball. Since you missed the 8 ball, your opponent then has the same option that you had.

I have never heard of this situation coming up in 50 years of playing, and do not think I ever will. I have made 6 balls on the break before in 8 ball, but that is the most, and it was a combination of solids and stripes.
 
1) I have never heard of this situation coming up in 50 years of playing, and do not think I ever will. I have made 6 balls on the break before in 8 ball, but that is the most, and it was a combination of solids and stripes.

I have made 8 ball on break... still 2 solid remain with 4 stripes and 8 ball :mad:
 
The BCA rules explicitly state that if groups have not been decidedAND all of one group is off the table, that either or both players may shoot at the 8-ball.
 
The BCA rules explicitly state that if groups have not been decidedAND all of one group is off the table, that either or both players may shoot at the 8-ball.

If you mean BCAPL rules, you are absolutely correct. BCAPL Rule 2.6.2 applies:

"If all balls of either group are pocketed on the break or illegally pocketed before groups are established, either player may legally shoot the 8-ball during their inning. You win the game if you legally pocket the 8-ball on such a shot."

The issue is not addressed by WSR.

:smile:

Buddy Eick
BCAPL National Head Referee
BCAPL Director of Referee Training
Technical Editor, BCAPL Rule Book
bcapl_referee@cox.net

Find the Official Rules of the BCA Pool League here:

http://www.playbca.com/Downloads/Rulebook/CompleteRulebook/tabid/372/Default.aspx

* The contents of this post refer to BCA Pool League (BCAPL) Rules only. The BCAPL National Office has authorized me to act in an official capacity regarding questions about BCAPL Rules matters in public forums.
* Neither I nor any BCAPL referee make any policy decisions regarding BCAPL Rules. Any and all decisions, interpretations, or Applied Rulings are made by the BCAPL National Office and are solely their responsibility. BCAPL referees are enforcers of rules, not legislators. BCAPL Rules 9.5.3 and 9.5.4 and the BCAPL Rules "Statement of Principles" apply.
* No reference to, inference concerning, or comment on any other set of rules (WPA, APA, VNEA, TAP, or any other set of rules, public or private) is intended or should be derived from this post unless specifically stated.
* For General Rules, 8-Ball, 9-Ball, 10-Ball, and 14.1 Continuous: there is no such thing as "BCA Rules" other than in the sense that the Billiard Congress of America (BCA) publishes various rules, including the World Pool-Billiard Association's "World Standardized Rules" for those games. The BCA has no rules committee. The BCA does not edit, nor is responsible for the content of, the World Standardized Rules. The Official Rules of the BCAPL is a separate and independent set of rules and, to avoid confusion, should not be referred to as "BCA Rules".
* Since 2004, there is no such thing as a "BCA Referee". The BCA no longer has any program to train, certify or sanction billiards referees or officials. The BCAPL maintains what we consider to be the most structured, complete and intensive referee training program available.
* The BCAPL has no association with the Billiard Congress of America other than in their capacity as a member of the BCA. The letters "BCA" in BCAPL do not stand for "Billiard Congress of America, nor for anything at all.
* The BCAPL has not addressed every imaginable rules issue, nor will it ever likely be able to, as evidenced by the seemingly endless situations that people dream up or that (more frequently) actually happen. If I do not have the answer to a question I will tell you so, then I will get a ruling from the BCAPL National Office and get back to you as soon as I can. If deemed necessary, the BCAPL will then add the ruling to the "Applied Rulings" section of The Official Rules of the BCA Pool League.
* All BCAPL members are, as always, encouraged to e-mail Bill Stock at the BCAPL National Office, bill@playcsi.com, with any comments, concerns or suggestions about the BCAPL rules.
 
Pero,ti si bog i gotovo.
Pitanjce genijalno:thumbup:
Only Croats can ask something like this:

On break incoming player pockets all solids.

1. Can he choose solids and play black ball?
2 if he can, and miss the 8 ball, can incoming player also play 8ball becasue table is still open ?

:thumbup::D:thumbup::D:thumbup::D

:withstupid:
 
If it's open table would that mean you can combo the eight in? e.g. All solids drop, I have no clean shot on eight, can I combo a stripe into the eight?
 
Back
Top