A 2002 US Open ruling question

Buckster_uk

AzB Silver Member
Silver Member
Hi,

I recently got some Accu Stats videos shipped over from the States and was watching the match between Deuel and Luat.

Luat was bridging over the 3 I think it was, he stroked the cueball, but brushed the 3 with his stick when he followed through and it was obvious that it moved, I thought it would be an obvious foul, but it wasn't. Is there a ruling saying that this is not counted as a foul? I find it hard to believe!
 
Buckster_uk said:
Hi,

I recently got some Accu Stats videos shipped over from the States and was watching the match between Deuel and Luat.

Luat was bridging over the 3 I think it was, he stroked the cueball, but brushed the 3 with his stick when he followed through and it was obvious that it moved, I thought it would be an obvious foul, but it wasn't. Is there a ruling saying that this is not counted as a foul? I find it hard to believe!

The PROs play by a set of rule they have adopted. In the players meetings, before the tournament starts, they go over these rules.

The general public is not privy to these rules in detail.

I believe that Pat Flemming of Accustats is the keeper or at least the final word about the Pro Rules.

In general the PROs do follow the World Standard Rules
http://www.wpa-pool.com/rules.htm

In an un-referreed game, it is cue ball fouls only. Touching a ball other than the cue ball is not a foul unless the ball touched would have come in play with the object ball or the cue ball.

See rule 3.21 Fouls by touching balls
See rule 1.16.1 CUE BALL FOULS ONLY

But, like I stated earlier, the Pros play by a set of rules that is a little different than the World Pool and Billiard rules.

I'm sure that someone will provide more info on this. I am curious if the Pro rules will ever be made public.
 
Last edited:
same thing goes to the local tourney i attend....if it was moved by hand and it's placed back to the same place as accurate as possible. But if you scratch not hitting the object ball or in the pockets it's a foul.
 
Back
Top