A interesting Question

pahrolli

Registered
I assume everyone on here know that it is illegal to jump a ball by scooping under it. You will get called for a foul if u do this. So, my question is, I have on a long straight in shot trying to draw the ball, miscue, the cue ball jumps in the air, but still go straight at the object ball and make it. I have done this and seen it done many times. I have yet to see it called a foul though. So why isn't it called a foul. Both shots ur scooping under the cue ball.
 
AN interesting answer

pahrolli said:
I assume everyone on here know that it is illegal to jump a ball by scooping under it. You will get called for a foul if u do this. So, my question is, I have on a long straight in shot trying to draw the ball, miscue, the cue ball jumps in the air, but still go straight at the object ball and make it. I have done this and seen it done many times. I have yet to see it called a foul though. So why isn't it called a foul. Both shots ur scooping under the cue ball.

Because this a "scoop" jump shot that is clearly accidentally played is explicity stated as not being a foul in the BCA Standard rules:

"3.26 ILLEGAL JUMPING OF BALL
It is a foul if a player strikes the cue ball below center (“digs under” or “lofts” the cue ball) and intentionally causes it to rise off the bed of the table in an effort to clear an obstructing ball. Such jumping action may occasionally occur accidentally, and such “jumps” are not to be considered fouls on their face; they may still be ruled foul strokes, if for example, the ferrule or cue shaft makes contact with the cue ball in the course of the shot. "
 
Thanks for the reply. I was looking for the "official rule" and u gave it. Thanks Aunty Dan. I would hate to see an accidental jump and the opposing player tries to argue that the cue ball touched the ferrel. LOL Especially if it is a big money game. That would be one hell of an argument to see.
 
Oh, I am reminded of an instance. I was barely hooked on a ball. I tried to put extreme low outside to just barely masse around another ball and hit the object ball. I accidently miscued and the cue ball jumped a lil and I ended up making the object ball. That would be another interesting situation that can occur.
 
The key word in the rule for scoop shots is "intentional".

To me it seems pretty obvious when someone is intentionally trying to scoop/jump the cue ball as opposed to when someone is trying to draw the cue ball and accidentially scoops it.

Keep in mind that the player would be calling their shot and there would be a direct path or carom path to the called object ball in the case of an accidental scoop. And there would be a ball in the way which would need to be jumped over in the other case.

BTW accidental scoops are usually because the player did not chalk their tip before their shot or did not chalk well around the sides of the tip. I will see someone trying to draw and scooping a lot, then I tell them chalk, chalk, chalk, then they will stop scooping and get draw. (Players who know how to draw and are trying to draw that is.)
 
pahrolli said:
Thanks for the reply. I was looking for the "official rule" and u gave it. Thanks Aunty Dan. I would hate to see an accidental jump and the opposing player tries to argue that the cue ball touched the ferrel. LOL Especially if it is a big money game. That would be one hell of an argument to see.

Slow-motion video shows that most mis-cues usually result in the edge of the ferrule contacting the cue-ball. However no-one ever calls it as a foul. I guess it is similar to the unintentional scoop jump shot, yes it is physically a foul but the results are usually so negative for the shooter and it happens so fast that no-one traditionally calls it.
 
AuntyDan said:
Because this a "scoop" jump shot that is clearly accidentally played is explicity stated as not being a foul in the BCA Standard rules:

"3.26 ILLEGAL JUMPING OF BALL
It is a foul if a player strikes the cue ball below center (“digs under” or “lofts” the cue ball) and intentionally causes it to rise off the bed of the table in an effort to clear an obstructing ball. Such jumping action may occasionally occur accidentally, and such “jumps” are not to be considered fouls on their face; they may still be ruled foul strokes, if for example, the ferrule or cue shaft makes contact with the cue ball in the course of the shot. "

I suspect most shots thus hit would be deemed a foul based upon the highlighted portion above, but I've never seen it called.
 
Back
Top