Aiming for power draw

TXDiver

I know power draw is not the best tool for reliable and consistent shape on the next ball but dang it’s sexy when you see someone hit a ball at the opposite end of the table and draw the cue ball back with enough power to get back to the short rail or even hit two rails. Also, I feel like when you can consistently draw well (shape notwithstanding), you have a good stroke. So I have been practicing draw and power draw off and on for a couple of years. I have watched a lot of YouTube videos on draw and power draw and it seems like every one says that among other key factors to power draw, you need to have a long bridge and hit as low as possible. I have tried and tried to hit low with various bridge lengths, no shoulder drop, with shoulder drop, relaxed, loose grip, level cue, etc, etc. I can’t do it consistently. Probably 2 out of 3 launch off the table. I thought if I could hit low, my draw would be much more powerful. I have given up trying to hit low and have gone back to the way I was taught 40 years ago which is one tip below center with about a 9”-10” bridge. With one tip below center, I can fairly consistently hit a ball cross table 4 diamonds away and draw the cue ball back to the short rail. That’s good enough for me. Maybe when I change my cloth out to Simonis 860HR, I’ll get a little more distance.

So why are all the guys with YouTube channels telling everyone to hit as low as possible? Does anyone still advocate the old one tip below center aiming point?

Last edited:
I don’t make my bridge any longer on a power draw. Bridge length only needs to be increased if you aren’t capable of hitting the ball hard enough with a regular length stroke. If you need a longer bridge you’d be what they call a pus arm in baseball…….in my opinion anyway.😂

smiling_Hans

Below center and shoot through and down.

Or

Aim low with cue as parallel to to the table and shoot through.