And the pink is potted - where is it spotted?
We ended up putting in front of the red that covered its spot
We ended up putting in front of the red that covered its spot
And the pink is potted - where is it spotted?
We ended up putting in front of the red that covered its spot
Implicit in the quoted rules is the "fact" that it is not possible for the blue to be blocked from being spotted between its spot and the top cushion. Is that true?
My own feeling is that (g) should not be specific in calling out balls that may be blocked on the normal spotting side.
A small nit... you need to also include the cue ball in your sums, so the chances are much greater than you might have estimated.... That leaves a possible fifteen reds and the pink and black (seventeen balls) to effectively cover a straight line area ...
A small nit... you need to also include the cue ball in your sums, so the chances are much greater than you might have estimated.
In the referenced video, it looked like pink may have been placed slightly to the right of the "long string". I'm glad I wasn't the referee.
I believe the reason that this particular rule specifies, "In the case of Pink and Black..." is that it emphasizes the point that (realistically speaking), there is NO circumstance in which the other balls are to be spotted near their spots but in the direction of the baulk cushion; if they cannot be spotted directly, then they must be placed as closely as possible to their spots not touching another ball in the direction of the black cushion. It creates an absolute uniformity to the rule, that is, you must ALWAYS follow a rule of thumb (black cushion direction) except the rule recognizes that in very rare circumstance, it is simply impossible to follow that rule of thumb. Otherwise, it would become very easy to misinterpret that rule as "if there is an interference on the black cushion side of the spot (like with the pack of reds), then just place the ball on the baulk cushion side of the spot" exactly as indy was incorrectly thinking in the first place.My own feeling is that (g) should not be specific in calling out balls that may be blocked on the normal spotting side.
In the referenced video, it looked like pink may have been placed slightly to the right of the "long string". I'm glad I wasn't the referee.
I was judging from the pink spot which is marked and was visible in the video and the assumption that the video camera was centered on the long string. The locations of blue and black are secondary, I think.To bring in the minority report:
The closeup doesn't show the black or the blue, so it is difficult to know if the placement of pink is off line.
But around 2:48 the long shot apparently shows that the pink is in line.
How could you suggest that Michaela could make such a mistake![]()
If you are attempting to deny Michaela's natural human propensity to err on occasion, then apparently you didn't watch the video closely at 1:19.How could you suggest that Michaela could make such a mistake![]()