APA rules question

Fouls

Steve - Detroit said:
I have an APA rules question for the rules experts on here.

Player A is shooting at the 8-ball and, by accident, places his marker overhanging the rail. He misses the shot but contacts the marker with enough force to alter the 8-ball's normal path off the rail.

Player B says foul. Player A, by placing the marker where he did, illegally interfered with the 8-ball.

Player A says no foul, the marker is just a piece of equipment at that point and, in APA, its Q-ball fouls only.

It ended up being played out with no foul and Player B accepted the table as it lay.

So, which way should it have been called? Also, if Player A is correct, what if the 8-ball had been redirected into the pocket off his marker, would that have been a win for Player A?

Thanks in advance for any replies.
In your scenario, It should be a ball in hand foul. Just as if the OB hits a piece of chalk that accidentally falls on table or somebody's pen fell onto playing surface and interfered with path of ball. This is assuming the 8 ball did not fall in pocket, in which case it would be loss of game.
 
BigDogatLarge said:
I just called an APA referee and asked him the question. This is how the shot turns out.

It ended up being played out with no foul and Player B accepted the table as it lay.
It is a sportsmanship violation and players B should have said something about the marker. There was no foul committed.

Dwight


I am beginning to believe this is the correct call, no foul, play it as it lies. The APA rules just do not address this particular scenario. Even at their website in the rules FAQ section they only mention a case where the 8-ball is pocketed and it hits the marker, No Foul. No mention at all of a case where it clearly misses the pocket and then hits the marker.

I?m now convinced we played it correctly, even if it just plain seems "wrong", there isn?t anything to say different. If anyone can quote an APA rule or ruling that does address this, please let me know.

I find it interesting that the APA ref you called throws it back at Player B though, for not telling Player A the marker was beyond the edge of the rail. Kind of like not telling your opponent he?s shooting at the wrong ball I guess.

I also think Fatboy's correct, its become a game for lawyers.

Oh well, it is what it is. Thank you to all that responded.
 
BigDogatLarge said:
I just called an APA referee and asked him the question. This is how the shot turns out.

It ended up being played out with no foul and Player B accepted the table as it lay.
It is a sportsmanship violation and players B should have said something about the marker. There was no foul committed.

Dwight

While at the APA Nationals in Las Vegas, we had an APA referee rule that on a shot at the 8-ball, if the 8-ball or cue ball strikes any foreign object - a marker on the rail, any part of the body or cue, or anything else not part of the table or balls so that the path of the ball is altered, it is a loss of game foul.
 
Back
Top