Ask The Silencer 8-ball Questions

  • Thread starter Thread starter THE SILENCER
  • Start date Start date
T

THE SILENCER

Guest
i will try to answer all questions relating to 8-ball. as you might be aware i am the 8-ball champion of new york state, and will help all of you with everything from fundementals, to in depth strategy. let's start!
 
What happens if I broke and I made all balls except the 8 ball?
What happens if I broke and made all striped balls , can I shoot the 8-ball in for the win?
 
intresting question! you know, i'm not sure! hmmmm let me think, you made every stripe on the break, can you legally shoot the 8ball in for the win????? i would answer no. according to the rules of the BCA you are not who you are until you "claim" who and what you are. meaning, you have to claim something, and unfortunatlly, you can't claim solids, because they are gone. so the answer is you MUST shoot stripes. anyone beg to differ, feel free to chime in.
 
If you can't run out at your current visit, but can pot some balls, how do you decide which to take off the table (making it easier when you do go for the clearance) and which to leave on the table (to avoid making things too easy for your opponent's visit)?

Cheers,
Pin
 
Joseph, I would think that in the unlikely event that all balls except the 8 went on the break, you, in fact would be able to pot the 8 for the win. Similarily, if you made all the high balls.

In theory, we spend our whole life trying to perfect the break. That is, make more balls and keep control of the shooter.
To make all the balls except the 8 would, in theory, be a "perfect" break (assuming you have a decent poke at the 8 after the break).

How can the rules say anything but applaud a "perfect" break?

If I was ref, I would not only let the player shoot the 8, but I would salute them on one knee and have them autograph the cloth. :D
 
My friend and I try to play by the BCA standardized 8-ball rules.

I've been playing for less than a year -- but if I understand correctly, a kick shot is where the cue ball first hits a cushion. I assume that kick shots must be called.

What happens sometimes is an object ball will be near a cushion on an extreme cut shot. The CB completely misses the OB and first hits the cushion, then hits the OB.

Since I didn't call a kick shot is this a foul?

************

What about using an opponent's ball to sink your own? This would mean a foul, but I'm wondering if in the right situation, people would ever do this intentionally to improve their position?

Thanks.
 
Sam L said:
My friend and I try to play by the BCA standardized 8-ball rules.

I've been playing for less than a year -- but if I understand correctly, a kick shot is where the cue ball first hits a cushion. I assume that kick shots must be called.

What happens sometimes is an object ball will be near a cushion on an extreme cut shot. The CB completely misses the OB and first hits the cushion, then hits the OB.

Since I didn't call a kick shot is this a foul?

************

What about using an opponent's ball to sink your own? This would mean a foul, but I'm wondering if in the right situation, people would ever do this intentionally to improve their position?

Thanks.
BCA rules only require the shooter to call the pocket. If the ball was legally hit and it goes to the pocket called, no matter how it got there even if it went 20 rails and caromed a dozen balls, it counts.
After the break, the table is open. You can combo any combination as long as you don't hit the 8 first. 8 ball is never neutral.
You can foul on purpose. If you used an opponent's ball or balls FIRST to pocket your ball, no need to call the pocket since your opponent gets ball in hand.
You can also pocket your ball and call safe. Meaning you lose your turn after the shot. Or just call the wrong pocket if your opponent doesn't undertand what a safe call is.
 
Thanks for clearing that up.

One more --

The rules say that on each shot, the CB or one of your balls must be driven to a cushion (or an OB pocketed). Is an exception made, say, if the CB doesn't make it to a cushion because it strikes an intervening ball?
 
4.11 LEGAL SHOT
(Defined) On all shots (except on the break and when the table is open), the shooter must hit one of his group of balls first and (1) pocket a numbered ball, or (2) cause the cue ball or any numbered ball to contact a rail. Please Note: It is permissible for the shooter to bank the cue ball off a rail before contacting the object ball; however, after contact with the object ball, an object ball must be pocketed, or the cue ball or any numbered ball must contact a rail. Failure to meet these requirements is a foul.
 
to pin from the u.k. intresting question with no right or wrong answer. always try to "stall" if that's the case. try and let your opponent commit the foul, if necessary take the game to a stale mate.
 
you must ALWAYS contact a cushion in american pool. i say american pool because in british snooker, no cushion ever has to be contacted, hence "laying down" a snooker, means "rolling up" behind the wrong colour ball. please be aware that 8-ball rules are NOT universal, and may very well differ from town to town.
 
Back
Top