BCA rule question!

Chris Salinas99

AzB Silver Member
Silver Member
Hey guys I run a bar tournment on Sunday's and Thursday's where in from. 8 ball. You know a 5$ tournament. Well the other night I had 2 guys playing there game and one guy scratched and so the other guys took ball in hand. Well that guy starts shooting the wrong balls. He shot 2 balls in and missed the last ball before the 8. Then the other guy says hey man I thought I was solids. I saw that the one guy was shooting in the wrong balls but I'm running the tournament and I can't get involved unless they ask me. Like I can't just run up to the table and tell my friend your about to start shooting the wrong balls. So then I give the other guy ball in hand and he wins the match. Well then my other friend says that after so many shots It becomes a re rack and that that had come up one night in pool league. So what my question is... is that ball in hand or is there some rule about it becoming a re rack after so many shots. And later on the guy who shot the wrong balls said that he thinks that that dude knew he was shooting the wrong balls and was letting him and was going to wait till he got to the 8 before saying anything but that's besides the point. I just wanted to ask you guys out there that might know all the rare rules that don't come up very often and so that I will know and will be able to make the right call next time. Thx!
 
If you're running a tournament, always have a copy of the rules handy.

Here is a link to the BCA rules that you can view from a smartphone.
http://bca-pool.com/?page=54

I could've sworn this scenario was answered on a thread for TAP league. Search feature is your friend.

Hey guys I run a bar tournment on Sunday's and Thursday's where in from. 8 ball. You know a 5$ tournament. Well the other night I had 2 guys playing there game and one guy scratched and so the other guys took ball in hand. Well that guy starts shooting the wrong balls. He shot 2 balls in and missed the last ball before the 8. Then the other guy says hey man I thought I was solids. I saw that the one guy was shooting in the wrong balls but I'm running the tournament and I can't get involved unless they ask me. Like I can't just run up to the table and tell my friend your about to start shooting the wrong balls. So then I give the other guy ball in hand and he wins the match. Well then my other friend says that after so many shots It becomes a re rack and that that had come up one night in pool league. So what my question is... is that ball in hand or is there some rule about it becoming a re rack after so many shots. And later on the guy who shot the wrong balls said that he thinks that that dude knew he was shooting the wrong balls and was letting him and was going to wait till he got to the 8 before saying anything but that's besides the point. I just wanted to ask you guys out there that might know all the rare rules that don't come up very often and so that I will know and will be able to make the right call next time. Thx!
 
Yes, in BCAPL rules if the error in ball group is not called as a foul immediately after the first ball is hit, but noticed only after multiple shots, the balls are to be re-racked and the game replayed.
 
If I remember correctly the suit can be changed and the
game won if no foul is called. I believe a foul has to be
called before a miss occurs or before the last ball of the
suit. If a foul is called then the incoming player gets BIH.

But taking advantage of you opponents error by letting him
do your work for you is a crappy thing to do. Even if it is
legal.

Joe
 
While I'm sure there is an official BCA rule for this there are any number of fair ways to handle this.

Replay the rack, ball in hand (if before the second shot is taken), person continues to use the other side as his. The one thing I would not accept is the other player waiting till the guy was about to shot the 8, then calling a foul for shooting the other group and taking ball in hand and making the 8 for the win. You need to call all fouls when they happen, not wait till it's more convenient for you. Once another shot is played, it's too late to call a foul unless you are re-playing the rack since the game was messed up. Can you see a bad hit happen in 9 ball, then wait till the guy is shooting the 9 and say "wait a second, you made a bad hit on the 4 ball, I get ball in hand now"? If a foul is not called when it happens, it did not happen.
 
Q77 is correct. Under both WSR and CSI Rules, the OP situation is a re-rack.

CSI Rule 2-6-3 applies. WSR Regulation 10 applies.

Buddy
 
Back
Top