BCA rules regarding out of turn player.

Cuedog

CUE BALL INCOMING!!!
Silver Member
Does anyone know the rules regarding someone playing out of turn? Player "B" comes to the table to play and it was not his turn. Player "A" came up dry on the break. After the out-of-turn player missed, his opponent, player "A" ran the table.

It was then realized that player "B" went out of turn. What is done in this case? Thanks for any help that can be provided.

Gene
 
Cuedog said:
Does anyone know the rules regarding someone playing out of turn? Player "B" comes to the table to play and it was not his turn. Player "A" came up dry on the break. After the out-of-turn player missed, his opponent, player "A" ran the table.

It was then realized that player "B" went out of turn. What is done in this case? Thanks for any help that can be provided.

Gene

If they played the whole rack without realizing the mistake, the game is in the books.

Once a foul is noted, game needs to stop and it needs to be brought up right away. Bad calls need to be brought up right away as well, as seen in the Guiness tour.. a ref made a bad call, but the player let the game run out before trying to point that out, which was too late.
 
Cuedog said:
Does anyone know the rules regarding someone playing out of turn? Player "B" comes to the table to play and it was not his turn. Player "A" came up dry on the break. After the out-of-turn player missed, his opponent, player "A" ran the table.

It was then realized that player "B" went out of turn. What is done in this case? Thanks for any help that can be provided.

Gene

This is actually a fairly common occurance. By today's BCA rules...if it were noticed before the game ended, it would be re-rack and proper players playing/breaking.

Once a game has been played...it is scored where the 2 would have otherwise played in the match (If the wrong player broke, that's too bad it doesn't matter). Play continues in proper order.

The game that was played out of order doesn't count until you get to it.
 
hang-the-9 said:
Once a foul is noted, game needs to stop and it needs to be brought up right away. Bad calls need to be brought up right away as well, as seen in the Guiness tour.. a ref made a bad call, but the player let the game run out before trying to point that out, which was too late.

I would have to believe this is true regardless of the tournament. In the matter of a judgement call, the referee cannot be overruled unless there's video replay or something. If they give you the wrong interpretation of a rule that may be appealed and overruled if need be.
 
Back
Top