I remember this question coming up a few months back: What if the person breaking makes all the stripes or all the solids? No group has been established due to it still being an open table, so can he/she shoot the 8?
I was bored and opened the rule book for the BCAPL 8 ball. I found this entry....
OFFICIAL RULES OF THE BCA POOL LEAGUE
39
2-6 Establishing Groups
1. Groups are established when the first object ball is legally pocketed on a shot after the
break. The player legally pocketing the first ball is assigned that group, and the opponent
is assigned the other group. You cannot establish a group on a safety. (AR p. 97)
2. If all balls of either group are pocketed on the break or illegally pocketed before
groups are established, either player may legally shoot the 8-ball during their inning.
You win the game if you legally pocket the 8-ball on such a shot.
3. Once they are established, groups can never change for the remainder of that game. If
a player shoots the wrong group and no foul is called before the next shot and the player
continues to shoot at that group, or if at any time during the game it is discovered by
either player or a referee that the players are shooting the wrong groups, the game will be
replayed with the player who broke the game breaking again
I've never seen this happen but I guess it's possible.....
I was bored and opened the rule book for the BCAPL 8 ball. I found this entry....
OFFICIAL RULES OF THE BCA POOL LEAGUE
39
2-6 Establishing Groups
1. Groups are established when the first object ball is legally pocketed on a shot after the
break. The player legally pocketing the first ball is assigned that group, and the opponent
is assigned the other group. You cannot establish a group on a safety. (AR p. 97)
2. If all balls of either group are pocketed on the break or illegally pocketed before
groups are established, either player may legally shoot the 8-ball during their inning.
You win the game if you legally pocket the 8-ball on such a shot.
3. Once they are established, groups can never change for the remainder of that game. If
a player shoots the wrong group and no foul is called before the next shot and the player
continues to shoot at that group, or if at any time during the game it is discovered by
either player or a referee that the players are shooting the wrong groups, the game will be
replayed with the player who broke the game breaking again
I've never seen this happen but I guess it's possible.....