BCAPL 9 Ball Break.....

tucson9ball

AzB Silver Member
Silver Member
The breaker (player A) miscues and does not hit any of the racked balls. This is a foul and the opponent (player B) gets ball in hand behind the head string (kitchen). My question, does the opponent (player B) still have the requirement of a normal break? ie; making a ball or 4 object balls hitting a rail?
I have looked thru the BCAPL(CSI) rules and can't find a satisfactory answer.....
 
You get ball in hand anywhere and it is foul number 1.
assuming you're playing 3 foul 9 ball

and since if you have ball in hand you can "break the balls" if you want, right?
(if ball-in-hand I'd put the CB in the middle of the table and crash the s out of them :-)

and yes I know the right play... but f it, I'd still crash'em LOL
 
First I would like to read my BCA rule book concerning this possibility and see what should happen next. Second, from years of experience I would want this miscue to be a foul, and the next player to have the option of having the same player retry the break shot from behind the headstring, or having the option to take over the table and have the break behind the headstring.

I do not believe the next player should have ball in hand, and the opportunity to break from anywhere on the table including the center spot. This way no one could use it to play a safety, and a hook by thinly hitting the one ball while the balls are racked.
 
First I would like to read my BCA rule book concerning this possibility and see what should happen next. Second, from years of experience I would want this miscue to be a foul, and the next player to have the option of having the same player retry the break shot from behind the headstring, or having the option to take over the table and have the break behind the headstring.

I do not believe the next player should have ball in hand, and the opportunity to break from anywhere on the table including the center spot. This way no one could use it to play a safety, and a hook by thinly hitting the one ball while the balls are racked.

That is actually a rule that is out there, not hitting the 1 on the break is a foul.

BCA uses the WPA rules I am pretty sure, the only special rules for the break outside of the standard rules of play is that you have to break from behind the line, 4 balls need to hit a rail, and the new one about 3 balls past the head string, which I think is dumb. However, since there are no other special rules for the break, the normal rule of rotation games would apply, which is you have to hit the lowest ball first or it's a foul. I am pretty sure APA and maybe some other leagues who want to make bad players do better in league allow multiple swings at the break, but don't think the BCA league does.
 
First I would like to read my BCA rule book concerning this possibility and see what should happen next. Second, from years of experience I would want this miscue to be a foul, and the next player to have the option of having the same player retry the break shot from behind the headstring, or having the option to take over the table and have the break behind the headstring.

I do not believe the next player should have ball in hand, and the opportunity to break from anywhere on the table including the center spot. This way no one could use it to play a safety, and a hook by thinly hitting the one ball while the balls are racked.
I just checked with a friend who TD's a lot. He said its a foul and incoming player gets BIH if using BCA rules. Tex. Express the incoming player breaks. In APA the game hasn't started yet. So there's different rules on this.
 
Back
Top