Hey everyone. I don't play tournaments or anything, so I've yet to be able to ask a referee or TD about this, and everyone else I ask only answers with their own take on how things SHOULD be, not really on what is being said.
In the BCA General rules, rule #3.23, it says:
"If the cue ball is touching the required object ball prior to the shot, the player may shoot toward it, providing that any normal stroke is employed."
Does that mean that if I play a safe, thinning a ball and freezing the cue ball against a ball (or two) in a cluster, that my opponent can shoot the cue ball into the ball it's frozen against? Does the chalk-width follow rule apply if the cue ball follows the object?
Or, does my opponent have to shoot away from the frozen ball(s) in order to try for a safe hit with a DIFFERENT ball, then a rail, or whatever?
Sorry if this is an easy one: it's one that seems to be in dispute a lot when I play 1P or 14.1 with folks.
In the BCA General rules, rule #3.23, it says:
"If the cue ball is touching the required object ball prior to the shot, the player may shoot toward it, providing that any normal stroke is employed."
Does that mean that if I play a safe, thinning a ball and freezing the cue ball against a ball (or two) in a cluster, that my opponent can shoot the cue ball into the ball it's frozen against? Does the chalk-width follow rule apply if the cue ball follows the object?
Or, does my opponent have to shoot away from the frozen ball(s) in order to try for a safe hit with a DIFFERENT ball, then a rail, or whatever?
Sorry if this is an easy one: it's one that seems to be in dispute a lot when I play 1P or 14.1 with folks.