Crazy One Pocket Scenario

Rack’em

Member
I was playing one pocket and my opponent has a ball deep in his pocket. I softly shoot to make his hanging ball, and while the cue ball is in motion his ball falls into the pocket and the cue ball scratches right after in the same pocket. I have never seen anything like this happen before. Not sure what the rule is on something like this because it has never come up before. I end up with a foul having to spot up a ball, and he spots his ball back in the jaws of the pocket, and takes ball in hand in the kitchen and ends up running out. Needless to say my wallet was not very happy. I can look back and laugh about it now.
 
Incorrect call. The object ball is respotted and the cue ball is replaced as close as possible (both players should agree) to where it was before. No loss of ball! The entire shot is nullified and must be replayed.

P.S. This happened one or two times in pro tournaments that I officiated. If an object ball falls in the pocket after you take the table (previous player has finished his turn) it must be respotted. That's the rule. The previous player does not get to go back to the table even if you have not shot yet.
 
Back
Top