Cribbage Billiards = Improved Cue Ball Control

Yes. Here are the rules as posted on Wikipedia. Of course, you may find a slightly different rule set somewhere else:

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Cribbage_(pool)

The wiki rules are not exactly clear on this but it seems that under these rules you are allowed to use the 15 ball in order to continue a run. As an example, you pocket the 7 but don't have shape on the 8. You can pocket the 15 ball in order to get position on the 8. The 15 ball would immediately spot after going down but you continue to shoot, hopefully pocketing the 8. I've also played where this type of play was not allowed. You can also play where the 15 ball spots after the inning or after the cribbage so that it can only be used once in an inning or once per cribbage.

Also, according to these rules if you sink more than one ball on the break or any shot you are on more than one cribbage. If you make the first cribbage but miss the 2nd, you still get credit for the first cribbage. I believe this is different than what the OP posted. So say you make both the 7 and the 3. You make the 8 next, but then miss the shot on the 12. You still get one point for the 7-8 cribbage, and the 3 ball spots.

Suffice to say there are different rule sets out there.

Mind you I just learned about this game today, but one question I have is that would it be assumed that for example; at any point during the rack lets say you pocket the 7 ball abiding the rules you must play the 8 ball next that is pretty straight forward. So you miss the 8 ball! now what? assuming you make it to the table again do you continue trying to make the 8 ball to complete the cribbage (i.e own the cribbage) or does the 7 spot. In shorter terms, do you need to complete the cribbage in one inning for it to count and if not do you spot the first half afterwards?


After reading the link I found my answer, Yes indeed you need to pocket the pair in the same inning for it to count!
 
Back
Top