Hi everyone:
I was playing in a cue-ball-foul-only tournament and the following happened:
The shooter shot the 3 ball, and hit the 9 ball with the butt of his cue and sank the 9 at the same time. The tournament director has no rule book nor did he have any understanding of the rules of 9 ball so he sort of left it for the players to decide what should be done.
This is one opinion: Since the incoming player do not have the option of leaving the disturbed ball in its disturbed position (i.e. in the pocket), the rule of giving the incoming player the option of restoring the ball to where he through it was or to leave it as is does not apply. Therefore, we should apply the rule which states that it is a foul if a shooter causes a ball to leave a playing surface. In which case, the incoming player gets ball in hand, and the 9 ball gets respotted.
Here is another point of view: If a ball is disturbed, then it should be up to the incoming player to restore it to where it was. Therefore, the shooter can keep shooting, and the 9 will be restored to where the incoming player agreed it was. And no foul is called.
Here is another one: It depends if the ball was sank while the cue ball was striked, or did it happen afterwards. But since there is no ref and no one other than the two players saw what happened, the benefit goes to the shooter, and no foul is called, the 9 ball restored to where the incoming player thought it was.
Here is another suggestion: Just play another game.
what is the call?
Thank you.
Richard
I was playing in a cue-ball-foul-only tournament and the following happened:
The shooter shot the 3 ball, and hit the 9 ball with the butt of his cue and sank the 9 at the same time. The tournament director has no rule book nor did he have any understanding of the rules of 9 ball so he sort of left it for the players to decide what should be done.
This is one opinion: Since the incoming player do not have the option of leaving the disturbed ball in its disturbed position (i.e. in the pocket), the rule of giving the incoming player the option of restoring the ball to where he through it was or to leave it as is does not apply. Therefore, we should apply the rule which states that it is a foul if a shooter causes a ball to leave a playing surface. In which case, the incoming player gets ball in hand, and the 9 ball gets respotted.
Here is another point of view: If a ball is disturbed, then it should be up to the incoming player to restore it to where it was. Therefore, the shooter can keep shooting, and the 9 will be restored to where the incoming player agreed it was. And no foul is called.
Here is another one: It depends if the ball was sank while the cue ball was striked, or did it happen afterwards. But since there is no ref and no one other than the two players saw what happened, the benefit goes to the shooter, and no foul is called, the 9 ball restored to where the incoming player thought it was.
Here is another suggestion: Just play another game.
what is the call?
Thank you.
Richard