Cue ball foul..how do you rule this?

X Breaker

AzB Silver Member
Silver Member
Hi everyone:

I was playing in a cue-ball-foul-only tournament and the following happened:

The shooter shot the 3 ball, and hit the 9 ball with the butt of his cue and sank the 9 at the same time. The tournament director has no rule book nor did he have any understanding of the rules of 9 ball so he sort of left it for the players to decide what should be done.

This is one opinion: Since the incoming player do not have the option of leaving the disturbed ball in its disturbed position (i.e. in the pocket), the rule of giving the incoming player the option of restoring the ball to where he through it was or to leave it as is does not apply. Therefore, we should apply the rule which states that it is a foul if a shooter causes a ball to leave a playing surface. In which case, the incoming player gets ball in hand, and the 9 ball gets respotted.

Here is another point of view: If a ball is disturbed, then it should be up to the incoming player to restore it to where it was. Therefore, the shooter can keep shooting, and the 9 will be restored to where the incoming player agreed it was. And no foul is called.

Here is another one: It depends if the ball was sank while the cue ball was striked, or did it happen afterwards. But since there is no ref and no one other than the two players saw what happened, the benefit goes to the shooter, and no foul is called, the 9 ball restored to where the incoming player thought it was.

Here is another suggestion: Just play another game.

what is the call?

Thank you.

Richard
 
nipponbilliards said:
Here is another point of view: If a ball is disturbed, then it should be up to the incoming player to restore it to where it was. Therefore, the shooter can keep shooting, and the 9 will be restored to where the incoming player agreed it was. And no foul is called.

what is the call?

Thank you.

Richard

i'm not an authority on this, but to me, logically in a cue ball foul only tournament, the above would be the correct way. it is cue ball fouls only, so no matter what the outcome no foul can be called. or it could be the opponents choice as to whether to replace it, or spot it.

thanks
 
If the 9 ball didn't interfere with the path of any traveling ball during the shot, it is restored to the original position by the non-shooting player and play continues, no foul

If the 9 ball was struck prior to the cue ball, it is a foul.
 
According to the rules that you are playing by, anything goes. What kind of TD doesn't have a set of posted rules!....SPF-randyg
 
nipponbilliards said:
...
The shooter shot the 3 ball, and hit the 9 ball with the butt of his cue and sank the 9 at the same time. The tournament director has no rule book nor did he have any understanding of the rules of 9 ball so he sort of left it for the players to decide what should be done.

...
It's too bad that you didn't have a referee....

I would rule that the non-shooter has the choice of spotting the nine or putting it back in the original spot, and the shooter continues. I think spotting the nine ball is a reasonalble substitute for leaving the nine in the pocket.
 
Bob Jewett said:
It's too bad that you didn't have a referee....

I would rule that the non-shooter has the choice of spotting the nine or putting it back in the original spot, and the shooter continues. I think spotting the nine ball is a reasonalble substitute for leaving the nine in the pocket.

This was my thinking too...
 
Thank you for all your input. It makes a lot of sense.
I am wondering if there is any provision in the rule book which one can refer to in this incident. As you all know, there may be pool players who oppose to a ruling so it would be helpful if I can refer to the rule book as I explain the ruling to my opponent/fellow player/tournament director.
Thank you very much.

Richard
 
Back
Top