Doubles Tournament question

Inaction

AzB Silver Member
Silver Member
This situation happened to me this week.

My partner and I won the first three matches in a small 8 team double elimination tournament. The race was to two games. We were in the hot seat and waiting for the survivor of the left side bracket.

My partner had to leave. I was told that I could play both positions by the director, which surprised me is little. I had heard that a player had been allowed to play single if there was an odd number in the past.

I was ready to flip a coin for the final, when I player on the other team insists that I forfeit. That is how it ended. I have no problem with the ruling.

I was thinking that if I did not play both positions, (and here is the question) I should be allowed the opportunity to break and run two games if I won the coin toss, assuming the second game would be a soft break with no chance of running out the 8 ball rack.

A friend explained that once we got to the point where it was my partner's turn, and he doesn't show up, the match would be forfeited and not just the game.

After further thought, what if the abandoned player successfully broke and ran the first game. Then on their first time at the table on game 2, he has a shot at pocketing the 8 either directly or with a combo. The game would be lost without the missing partner having a turn. This would set up the opportunity to break and run for the win.

Would intentionally pocketing the 8-ball be considered unsportsmanlike, or a tactical move?

Just curious about other opinions.

The odds of winning a match like that for me would be very low, but I would have loved to try it.

Thank you
 
Last edited:
In BCA and APA, pocketing the 8-ball out of turn is loss of game. So, curious what rule set you're using.
 
In BCA and APA, pocketing the 8-ball out of turn is loss of game. So, curious what rule set you're using.

VNEA rules.

I believe it would be a loss of game only. The opponent may not like it in some situations like in a league match years ago.

Our anchor needed 5 balls to win the round and the other two balls were tied up. He made the five balls and attempted to shoot the 8 in, but missed. Opponent then hooked our guy three times which resulted in a rerack ruling after 6 consecutive shots without a ball being legally pocketed. The opponent then broke and ran for the win.
 
Back
Top