I think this situation(or a similar one) has came up before on a different thread but I can't find it and don't remember the ruling so maybe someone with some knowledge can give their insight.....
In a ball count match(not just wins but ball count per game with a win counting as 10) can you win a match on a foul? Pocketing your own ball illegally to gain the last point needed to mathematically eliminate your opponent?
Hypothetically speaking.......
Say the score is 145(your opponents team) - 142(your team).(this is including the balls potted during this last game)
Your opponent has 1 ball left(stripes), you have 1 ball left(solids)
It is your opponents shot. Are they allowed to shoot into the 4 ball, pocketing the 10 ball and win the match(146+1=147) because even though they give up ball in hand and you would most likely have made the 4 ball and the 8(142+4=146), they would have reached 147 first?
If not, what would happen to the potted ball 10 ball? Does it get spotted? Does it not get spotted and just not count towards the ball count?
A referee at the VNEA tournament said that it was not allowed at this specific tournament but was uncertain at a national(international) level.
Is there a VNEA Rule that is different than a BCAPL rule?
I am just curious as I would like to know the rule either way.
In a ball count match(not just wins but ball count per game with a win counting as 10) can you win a match on a foul? Pocketing your own ball illegally to gain the last point needed to mathematically eliminate your opponent?
Hypothetically speaking.......
Say the score is 145(your opponents team) - 142(your team).(this is including the balls potted during this last game)
Your opponent has 1 ball left(stripes), you have 1 ball left(solids)
It is your opponents shot. Are they allowed to shoot into the 4 ball, pocketing the 10 ball and win the match(146+1=147) because even though they give up ball in hand and you would most likely have made the 4 ball and the 8(142+4=146), they would have reached 147 first?
If not, what would happen to the potted ball 10 ball? Does it get spotted? Does it not get spotted and just not count towards the ball count?
A referee at the VNEA tournament said that it was not allowed at this specific tournament but was uncertain at a national(international) level.
Is there a VNEA Rule that is different than a BCAPL rule?
I am just curious as I would like to know the rule either way.
Last edited: