Foul or No Foul

stevekur1

The "COMMISH"
Silver Member
I was playing a game of 14.1 with a buddy of mine, on a table that was shot! there is a hole worn where the spot should be. well anyways i had to shoot a ball that was spotted and i had to hit it firm, and the object ball took flight and hit the back of the pocket and flew off the table.

Is this a point foul or does the object ball just get spotted?

Thanks
Steve

after the game we took several shots off the spot, looking closely you can see that the ball gets air everytime!
 
This is from http://www.wpa-pool.com

Fouls

6.5 Ball Driven off the Table
It is a foul to drive an object ball off the table. Whether that ball is spotted depends on the rules of the game.

14.1 Rules
4.6 Spotting Balls
All balls pocketed on fouls, or on safeties, or without a called ball having been pocketed, and all balls driven off the table are spotted.

So it's a foul and the ball is spotted. I don't know of any rules for playing on bad equipment, maybe don't play on a bad table :D
 
stevekur1 said:
but the question still at hand is, should i have lost a point?


It is a foul

You lose a point

If it is the the third foul you lose the point plus 15 or whatever your 3 foul rule penalty
 
Back
Top