Foul or not?

mnShooter

AzB Silver Member
Silver Member
I was playing barbox 8 ball last week. This guy shoots, moves a ball with his arm, and misses the shot. The ball he shot came back three rails and hit the ball he moved and a bunch of other balls thereafter. This totally changed the layout of the table. He insisted it was not a foul but didn't want to fight about it so he let me take ball in hand. I had an open shot anyway.

Is this a foul or not(VNEA or BCA rules)?

If it's not a foul do you just leave the balls where they are?

So in cueball foul's only is it only a foul if you touch the cueball?


START(
%Ac1H6%BP9S4%C\4S9%DP3M4%Ec3N2%FK1F8%GX5I9%HR9H2%IQ9Y4%JH2H8
%KH6S7%Lm5V5%MF4N1%NJ8V0%OK7K5%PO1R0%QS8T2%US8T5%VP9S3%Wm4C7
%Xc9G9%Yr8F6%Zn4C4%[^2[0%\s4G4%_U6U9%`X5X2%a]1[3%ba4I2%cZ0L7
%dO8Q4
)END
 
Absolutely a foul...

Any ball moved inadvertently while shooting that impedes
the path of the cue ball or object ball is a foul. You should
have had ball in hand.
 
It's a foul. There's just no other way around it because it impacted the result of the shot.
 
My understanding in APA is that accidental moving of a ball is not a foul and at the other player's discretion the ball can be moved back to it's original location OR left where it is.

LWW
 
VNEA it is a foul. I would like to show you part of a match I was in and what happened:
START(
%AO7V7%BB5B9%CB8\2%Dt2\0%E[5\7%F[3B0%Gt6C2%Hk0L3%Ib9D7%Jd3E6
%K[2\6%Lf4D5%Mh2L1%Na6Q1%Oh6J9%P^4R2
)END

I'm playing a guy who is a lawyer by trade. He is running out, bridging over my 14 ball. The one ball is straight in and he spends a very long time thinking about the shot. He shoots the shot with draw bringing the ballstraight back. At the same time his bridge hand moves the 14 into the position shown. (The cue was moving so slow it would have locked on the 14 or pushed the 14 close to the 8.)

START(
%AO7V7%BB5B9%CB8\2%Dt2\0%E[5\7%F[3B0%Gt6C2%Hk0L3%Ib9D7%Jd3E6
%K[2\6%Lf4D5%Mh2L1%Nf3L9%Oh6J9%Pd2P3
)END

I say,"Foul!"
He says, "No it's not! You can move the ball back to where it was." He indicates with his finger behind the cue ball (which I knew was the original spot.)

I move it to this position:
START(
%AB7[9%BB5B9%CB8\2%Dt2\0%E[5\7%F[3B0%Gt6C2%Hk0L3%Ib9D7%Jd3E6
%K[2\6%Lf4D5%Mh2L1%Na8Q1%Oh6J9%P`5Q6
)END

He says, "You cant do that, the 14 was here (with his finger still on the original spot.)" My reply, "You flicked the 14 out of the way with your hand to clear the way. The cue would have hit the 14. The rules state, "the opponent places the nearest where it originally layed", and I say it was here."

His team was down and was desperate for this run out. He wouldn't back down. I sat down and stopped talking. He calls the vendor, we wait 30 minutes or so. The vendor overturns my placement they end up winning the round.
 
Back
Top