frozen ball-blackjack

stick8

AzB Silver Member
Silver Member
have a question? if a ball is frozento rail, if qb hits the ball then hits rail it is frozen to is that a good hit? ob did go to rail ,but the way rule 6.5 of texas express reads, is the qb must hit diffrent rail. what is right?
 
stick8 said:
have a question? if a ball is frozento rail, if qb hits the ball then hits rail it is frozen to is that a good hit? ob did go to rail ,but the way rule 6.5 of texas express reads, is the qb must hit diffrent rail. what is right?
Stick,

According to "Texas Express Rule 6.5" the situation your give would be a foul. The rule Stick refers to reads:

6.5: Object Ball Frozen to a Rail
If the lowest numbered object ball is frozen to a rail, the player must 1) drive that object ball to another rail, or 2) drive another numbered ball to the rail resulting from a hit initiated by the lowest numbered ball struck, or 3) drive the cue ball to another rail, or 4) legally pocket a numbered ball. Failure to do any of these resulting from an object ball being frozen to the rail results in a cue ball-in- hand foul. The frozen object ball must be declared and the opponent must acknowledge prior to the shot.


Just an opinion, but I think the use of the word "another" is an oversight, for most all players would not consider this a foul.

Furthermore, according to the World Standardized Rules: General Rules of Pocket Billiards one of the condictions under which shooting an object ball frozen to the rail does not result in a foul, is simply that of after contacting the frozen object ball "The cue ball contacting a cushion."

However, Texas Express Rules do have little subtle differences, for example "tapping the balls while you are racking may be declared a foul and result in the loss of one game". So, what they say may be exactly what they intended, it is a foul. I will leave it to someone more farmiliar than I with the implementation of the Texas Express rules to say. I will be curious to see what Blackjack has to say.

Stick, I think than when people say they are playing "Texas Express Rules", what they actually mean it they are playing "ball in hand with a push following the break and a three foul rule". Given that you have read the rules pretty closely, I think you would agree.
 
Professor
If tapping the balls while you are racking may be declared a foul and result in the loss of one game in Texas Express Rules Railroad should never win a game.:D Carlton
 
In 1 pocket if ball is called frozen, you hit it,
& then cue ball hits another rail; it is a good
hit. At least that's the way we play in
West By Gosh Virginia.
 
I was confused because on long shot if ball is frozen to rail you hit ob, then qb hit the rail the frozen ball was on but nether the ob or qb hits another rail I would still call good hit am I wrong? STICK
 
Stick, the way we play is after you hit a called
frozen ball, then either the cue or object
ball then has to hit another rail. Maybe
we're saying the same thing.
 
What I am trying to say If the cue ball hits the frozen ball. and hits the same rail ----good hit??? bad hit???? I guess the word here is ----- anothe!!!!!?????
 
Back
Top