handicap 9 ball spotting a player

John Novak

AzB Silver Member
Silver Member
For those who play under handicap spot ball, Im curious as to what rules are used if the player giving the spot ball pockets the receiving players spot on the break.

Since the mid 90's on the east coast from my experience its always been.

If the giving player pockets the receiving players ball on the break it comes up after his turn at the table "Only" if the ball before the spot ball is still on the table. If it isnt on the table then it stays down.

If the receiving player sinks his own spot ball on the break it comes up before his next shot.

Now most tourneys have switched to games spots to decrease the confusion of what to do when with the ball spot.
Just curious as to how wide spread these rules were used or is it just an east coast thing....
 
I've played different ways, just depends.
Usually if you are spotting them just 1 ball, let's say the 7, you would rack the 7 right behind the 1 ball when racking. It's less likely to go down on the snap.
But you can stipulate before playing whether it counts on the snap or not.

I spotted a gy the break/6 out. Beleive me, if he made them on the break they didn't count. LOL I also told em they would stay down if made on the break. So....either way.
 
In my NYC beginner league, the ball gets spotted immediately after the break. It is the responsibility of the lower HC person to do this. If they do not notice the HC ball went down and a shot is taken, the ball stays down.
 
If you are playing league it depends on your league rules. Gambling; usually you stipulate if you are giving a "called" ball or a "wild" one. If you are giving lets say the wild 7 whenever he makes it it counts as a won game, if you giving the called 8 which is common then he needs to called the pocket on which to make the ball, usually if he calls the pocket off the break and he makes it in such pocket he wins the game, if it goes down on a different pocket it doesn't count but he keeps shooting.
 
It stays down around here. If I'm giving you the 8 and I pocket it on any legal shot, it stays down. If I pocket it on a foul shot, it spots up. If you pocket it on a legal shot, you win. If you pocket it on a foul shot, it stays down. The above applies to the break like any other shot.

Now if it's the called 8, then the same rules apply except if you pocket it on a legal but not called shot. If you do that, it stays down but you don't win.

-Andrew
 
Back
Top