Help with 8 Ball Rules

SirNoobs

Suspected scammer
Silver Member
Say my opponent has one of his balls hanging near the pocket (let's make him solids), would I get to shoot again if I shoot the stripe into the hanger and make both my stripe and the hanging solid? Or is the rule that I have to make my stripe first for it to be a good shot?

...I hate "street rules"...
 
I play APA, and it was explained to me that you have to contact and make your ball first to stay at the table. I may have been misinformed, but that is what I was told. It would be interesting to see what the actual ruling on this was.
 
FIRST :D
Their really are none.
Except that you must hit one of your balls first.
In APA any one of your balls can go in any pocket and you keep shooting.
In BCA, VNEA and most tournaments you just need to call one of your balls and designate which pocket.
Before, after or with one of your opponents ball does not matter.
In Bar rules usually if you call with the #solid it is you would be covered.
 
Nice~ That settles one dispute. :D

What if you hit your set of balls and but only pocket your opponent's balls? Is it a ball-in-hand for the opponent or does he play the cueball where it is?
 
Nice~ That settles one dispute. :D

What if you hit your set of balls and but only pocket your opponent's balls? Is it a ball-in-hand for the opponent or does he play the cueball where it is?

It's not a foul, so ball in hand doesn't apply. Incoming shooter plays from where the cueball lays.
 
Back
Top