Here's a weird one - rules question

42NateBaller

AKA "Drambuie Dave"
Silver Member
Last night playing 9-ball, two balls jammed up in the pocket. They were wedged together in the pocket with neither ball touching the table or the bottom of the pocket. If they were to drop on their own, both would fall into the pocket. After a brief consultation (and laugh), we decided that both balls were pocketed. Is this correct?

Thanks!
 
correct

The scenario you gave would be the correct action.

If both were touching the table you would do nothing.

If one were touching the table you would pocket the ball not touching the table.

At least that is how I interpret the rules.
 
Thanks for the confirmation. It was the strangest thing I've ever seen. I wonder if there are any other weird situations like that we should be aware of.
 
We have this happen alot because of the tight pockets. In the Apa we have to gently pull 1 ball up if the other ball falls in then they are both pocketed if it stays out then it is in play and only the 1 you pulled out is pocketed
 
42NateBaller said:
Last night playing 9-ball, two balls jammed up in the pocket. They were wedged together in the pocket with neither ball touching the table or the bottom of the pocket. If they were to drop on their own, both would fall into the pocket. After a brief consultation (and laugh), we decided that both balls were pocketed. Is this correct?

Thanks!

This happened to me before when playing 1P. According to people I consulted here, both ball are counted as pocketed. I am trying to locate that post so I can give you the exact words, however I just cant find it using all kinds of keywords.

Can anyone help me with this (finding the post)?

edit: NoStroke says "That would be a scratch-Both balls would be deemed to have fallen."

photos of the balls from:
http://pl.cuetable.com/showthread.php?t=161

attachment.php


attachment.php
 
Last edited:
I play APA too, so this is good to know. This particular situation was on an in-house Tex Ex rules league.

Tiger5150 said:
We have this happen alot because of the tight pockets. In the Apa we have to gently pull 1 ball up if the other ball falls in then they are both pocketed if it stays out then it is in play and only the 1 you pulled out is pocketed
 
Tiger5150 said:
We have this happen alot because of the tight pockets. In the Apa we have to gently pull 1 ball up if the other ball falls in then they are both pocketed if it stays out then it is in play and only the 1 you pulled out is pocketed
I heard that you push one down.
 
According to the BCA Official Rule and Record Book under General Rules, rule 3.33 "Jawed Balls, If two or more balls are locked between the jaws or sides of the pocket, with one or more suspended in air, the referee shall inspect the balls in position and follow this procedure: he shall visually (or physically if he desires) project each ball downward from it's locked position; any ball that in his judgement would fall in the pocket if so moved directly downward is a pocketed ball, while any ball that would come to rest on the bed of the table is not pocketed. The balls are then placed according to the referee's assessment, and play continues according to specific game rules as if no locking or jawing of balls had occurred."

Dick
 
rhncue said:
According to the BCA Official Rule and Record Book under General Rules, rule 3.33 "Jawed Balls, If two or more balls are locked between the jaws or sides of the pocket, with one or more suspended in air, the referee shall inspect the balls in position and follow this procedure: he shall visually (or physically if he desires) project each ball downward from it's locked position; any ball that in his judgement would fall in the pocket if so moved directly downward is a pocketed ball, while any ball that would come to rest on the bed of the table is not pocketed. The balls are then placed according to the referee's assessment, and play continues according to specific game rules as if no locking or jawing of balls had occurred."

Dick
It happened in a tournament recently and that is how they did it. I thought it was correct.

BVal
 
Back
Top