How do you feel about this?

Opie

Stronger than shortstop?
Silver Member
To start with, I've never been in this situation but I've seen it happen a few times. Here's the scenario. Two guys will be gambling and one of them will be getting a "call" ball. Usually like the 7 or 8. The guy getting the spot will be on his money ball, say the "call 7" and it'll be either a duck or a ridiculously obvious shot. He'll go down and shoot it in without calling the pocket. He'll get up assuming he's won and the other guy will say "you didn't call it." He was getting the "CALL" 7 so the other guy is technically right and he has to continue shooting and 9 times out of 10 he's screwed because he hasn't played shape for his next ball thinking that he's won. It seems pretty unsportsmanlike, but on the other hand, it is a moneygame and the specs indicate that you MUST call it. What do ya'll think?

As a sidenote...
It might be a weird theory I have, but I think that with some players calling the ball before shooting it kinda messes them up. On shots that are about medium on the difficulty scale, I think the extra step of verbally calling the ball kinda messes up their preshot routine or puts a little extra pressure on them causing them to miss balls sometimes that that would usually make.
JMO

Sorry for the long post.
 
Technically yes, but

The person giving the spot can dictate that it has to be
called every single time, but the general rule of thumb is
that if it is an obvious shot, it is assumed, if it is not
an obvious shot, then you have to specify the pocket.
But, in a money game, it will usually depend on what they
are playing for, big money, yes, small money, rules are
usually more relaxed.

This came up in the tournament I played last night, a little
mini tourney paying $65 for first place. A player broke,
made the 9 and scratched. The opposing player did not
spot the 9, began shooting, ran about 3 balls, had a
connect the dot out the rest of the way, discovered the
9 was not on the table, spotted up the 15, and ran the
rest of the balls winning the game (It was only a race to
2). Technically, because the opposing player did not spot
the 9 back up, and began shooting, he actually committed
a foul, and the breaking player should have had ball in hand.
(I have had this foul called on me in 8 ball where I made the
8 on the break, and kept shooting without spotting it back up
first, it was called a foul).

What do you think?
 
Snapshot9 said:
The person giving the spot can dictate that it has to be
called every single time, but the general rule of thumb is
that if it is an obvious shot, it is assumed, if it is not
an obvious shot, then you have to specify the pocket.
But, in a money game, it will usually depend on what they
are playing for, big money, yes, small money, rules are
usually more relaxed.

According to the World Standardized Rules, a call shot must be called prior to the stroke, and designate the ball and pocket. There are no exceptions in the General Rules. According to the World Standardized Rules, in the game of 8-BALL, obvious shots need not be called. They also give the opponent the right to ask for clarification if they do not know what 'obvious' shot is being played. Also, the (8 Ball) rules say that banks and combos are NOT obvious. This situation of not calling obvious shots is not a part of the World Standardized Rules 14.1 rules. The 9-Ball rules have no section on call shot for obvious reasons. So any call shot in 9-Ball is a made-up rule by the players to begin with, and as such I would agree that it MUST be settled up front.

Just my opinions and the real rules.

Dave
 
Snapshot9 said:
.............discovered the
9 was not on the table, spotted up the 15, and ran the
rest of the balls winning the game
What do you think?

Re-rack.

Start the game over is the easiest IMO.
 
Back
Top