legal pool break

In 8 ball and 9 ball how close to head string can you set the cue ball? I made 8 on the break an they hollered I had the ball across the line, the bottom of ball was not touching the line, the other player thinks no part of ball can be across the line, I have searched rule books for answer an I can't find it in rules. Can any one out there tell me where to find the rule or tell me what is right. Thanks.

First, as per BCAPL rule 1-35 Position of Ball - The position of a ball is determined by its base (see Diagram 7).

Second, as per BCAPL the definition of Head String: a line along the bed of the table, aligned between the second diamonds of the long rails as counted from the head of the table. The area behind the head string does not include the head string.

Third, when placing ball in hand behind the head string BCAPL rule 1-36 Shooting with Ball in Hand Behind the Head String - 3. When you have ball in hand behind the head string, it is a foul if you place the ball outside of the kitchen and shoot.

So, the head string is not part of the kitchen. When you place the cue ball for the break (or for ball in kitchen after the break), you CANNOT put the cue ball dead nuts on the line - it must be behind the line.

Furthermore, if you have ball in kitchen (i.e. after the break) you CAN shoot a ball that is dead nuts on the line because it is out of the kitchen because the line is not part of the kitchen.

A few years ago, BCAPL rules used to state that, when placing ball in hand behind the head string, if you placed the cue ball relatively close to, but past the line (i.e. with a ball width), your opponent had to warn you or it wouldn't be a foul. The old rules went on to say that if a player had ball in hand behind the head string, but placed it "clearly and obviously" outside the kitchen, no warning was necessary and it would be a foul. They must have changed the wording as I can't find those specific words right now.

Finally, if you were over the line, it is a foul. However, they have to prove you were over the line. If no proof exists, or there wasn't a referee present, favor goes to the shooter.
 

Attachments

  • ball-position.jpg
    ball-position.jpg
    31.9 KB · Views: 163
Centerline of the CB , as it should be.

Otherwise everytime you leave a "Hanger" , you could claim it's technically "In" the pocket and keep shooting.

:)
 
ask an illegal if he could just extend his arms across the border with his feet still planted in mexico.

what happens next is your answer.
 
Back
Top