Napa league rule question

nympfisher

SEMI AMATURE
Silver Member
opinion on a call last nite by the league operator,,

shot was close one so I called for a ref.
after the shot which was close , he says same time,, both were hit the same time,

I will tell you later what the call was, how do you interpret the rule ?

thanks.
 
opinion on a call last nite by the league operator,,

shot was close one so I called for a ref.
after the shot which was close , he says same time,, both were hit the same time,

I will tell you later what the call was, how do you interpret the rule ?

thanks.

"Same time" call by any rules I would imagine is legal. I always took it as "unless it's a foul it's legal." If you didn't hit the "other" ball first, it's legal
 
The intended object ball must be hit first. At least in snooker. I don't read my rule book much lately, too many nits anyway. And nitty rules, nitty refs. People in general suck too. Sorry for your bad luck.
 
opinion on a call last nite by the league operator,,

shot was close one so I called for a ref.
after the shot which was close , he says same time,, both were hit the same time,

I will tell you later what the call was, how do you interpret the rule ?

thanks.

Balls basically never get hit at the same time. BCA refs are taught to watch how the balls react after they are hit in some situations because it is impossible to tell. You can't really blame someone for whatever they call in the situation you are describing because to be honest very few people can tell what really happens- including the players.
 
This rule came up during one of my matches at last year's APA 9b nationals. I was on te 3b, which was on the rail with the 8b slightly behind it, right beside it out from the rail. They called a ref to watch the hit, which was CLEARLY a foul. No question about it. It wasn't even close. The ref called it a simultaneous hit, which in the APA is a good hit and I continued shooting. If they hadn't called the ref, I would have plain as day called a foul on myself, but once the ref was called, his call is final. Anyway, at least in the APA, a simultaneous hit is a good hit. I don't know the rule in NAPA, but I suspect it might be the same. But, as someone else stated, simultaneous hits virtually never happen. The actual odds of that happening are absolutely astounding, and the direction/reaction of the balls after the hit will tell all.
 
the call was good hit by the LO on the phone, said call goes to the shooter..i thought the call only went to the shooter if nobody was calling it. the ref said same time. and the rules state you must hit your ball first, so it should be a foul correct ? , if you hit same time as ref saw it , you didn't hit yours first.
it was a player on my team , not me.
whats the point in a ref if that's the case.

ok , im done..lol
 
the call was good hit by the LO on the phone, said call goes to the shooter..i thought the call only went to the shooter if nobody was calling it. the ref said same time. and the rules state you must hit your ball first, so it should be a foul correct ? , if you hit same time as ref saw it , you didn't hit yours first.
it was a player on my team , not me.
whats the point in a ref if that's the case.

ok , im done..lol

If you can't tell what ball was hit first, meaning a "split" as some bar players call it, it's called a good hit. If you can tell that the wrong ball was hit first, then it's a foul.
 
opinion on a call last nite by the league operator,,

shot was close one so I called for a ref.
after the shot which was close , he says same time,, both were hit the same time,

I will tell you later what the call was, how do you interpret the rule ?

thanks.

I don't think this is an issue with the rule so much as the ref. The ref should have said "good hit" or "foul" and walked away.

I had an instance once where the shooter asked for someone to make the call so the other team captain and myself both watched the hit, made the same call, and then the shooter spent the next 30 minutes saying how he disagreed with the call (it went against him, as you can imagine.) As this was slowing down the game, I finally spoke up and said, "it doesn't matter what you think. You asked for a ruling and got one. You need to accept it and move the f*** on. That's the point of asking for a ref in the first place!"

the call was good hit by the LO on the phone, said call goes to the shooter..i thought the call only went to the shooter if nobody was calling it. the ref said same time. and the rules state you must hit your ball first, so it should be a foul correct ? , if you hit same time as ref saw it , you didn't hit yours first.
it was a player on my team , not me.
whats the point in a ref if that's the case.

ok , im done..lol

I can make the equally valid argument that the two balls were simultaneously hit before anything else and therefore the shooter's ball (and another) was hit first and a good hit.

This is why, in my opinion, refs have to call "good" or "bad" and be done with it. Calling "same time" is weak on the part of the ref.
 
Back
Top