Opinions? Should I have won this game or lost? League operator ruled against me.

The Op won the game when he made the 8, end of story. I can see where a guy might forget that he doesnt need to sink the regular money ball when he is getting game balls. Its just natural to go on to the next ball on the table when playing rotation games, sometimes getting a spot and winning on a ball other than the 9 is unnatural.

As a side note I never played APA but if I did I would always mark my 8 ball pocket. We play BCA, I dont call obvious straight ins and cuts but I always call banks, combos, and the 8, even if very obvious, its just a good habit is all. I try to get my team mates to always call the 8, most of the time they ignore me but they will learn to after they get screwed the first time.
 
I'm trying to think of any game that isn't over the moment you've won it.

Any game of 9 ball isn't over the 'moment' you've won and still has the issue of a rolling cue ball and wheather a scratch may still occur. Hypothetically, how are we to know the OP's intentions here? Maybe the shot had a high probability of scratching so he didn't call it for the win or the 9 ball was left tough on the side rail near the side pocket, leaving a difficult shot for your opponet even with ball in hand? Given the massive spot you just can't have it both ways and you continued at the table. At the moment you shot on the 9 ball, there is no going back and claiming victory for a pocketed 8 ball, just my humble opinion. :thumbup:
 
You won because you legally pocketed the game ball. But you forfeited that win by asking for a ruling from someone that obviously does not understand the game.
 
I kind of agree with the official ruling by the league operator but I'd like to hear some opinions here. OK heres the situation. NAPL individual 9 ball league, Due to the handicap I get 3 games on the wire and the eight ball. The nine (or in my case the 8 or 9) must be called but if it's an obvious shot you don't have to call it. I get a very easy shot on the eight, completely obvious, the 8 is hanging on the corner and the cue is very close. I get it in but in a senior moment (LOL, I'm 63) I completely forget that I had the eight and went for the nine which I missed. My opponent then got the nine in. That's when I realized I made the eight and should have won. My opponent was actually willing to give it to me (not like Jason Shaw in the 14.1 against Earl, LOL) but to be fair with good sportsmanship I agreed to ask the league operator. He said that if I picked up the balls and didn't go for the nine it would be a win for me since it was an obvious shot (which would have put me on the hill) but the fact I continued showed I that there was no way I was calling the shot to win and gave the win to my opponent. Maybe I should have kept my mouth shut and accepted my opponent's concession but I do believe in good sportsmanship.

Basically, the LO is claiming that by continuing to shoot (after you made the 8), you are essentially admitting that you did not make the 8 in your intended pocket.

Now obviously if the 8 is hanging, it seems more likely that you simply forgot that you were given the 8 as opposed to trying to shoot the 8 into another pocket (or play safe). But, either the rules don't allow the LO to make that judgement, or the LO did not want to make that judgement, or both.
 
Last edited:
Extrapolating from the league operators call.

If you shot a game with no handicap, and legally pocket the last ball.
And with no other balls on the table after the cue ball comes to a complete stop
you shoot the cue ball into a pocket you would loose????
 
Extrapolating from the league operators call.

If you shot a game with no handicap, and legally pocket the last ball.
And with no other balls on the table after the cue ball comes to a complete stop
you shoot the cue ball into a pocket you would loose????
You wouldn't lose at that moment however the 9 ball would be spotted and play would turn over to your opponent with 'ball in hand' because you failed to CALL the pocket for the winning ball. This back and forth would continue indefinitely until the game is finally won. :D
 
You wanted a ruling, you got the ruling. So, yeah, you lost. Anytime someone gives me the game, I don't look back, and don't ask questions. I mean, if I get the 8 and I make the 8 why would I question that.

You lost cause you thought to hard ;)

ChicagoRJ is the voice of reason, opponent conceded, don't look back, don't ask questions. This situation happens quite frequently and usually is never repeated. I could almost guarantee the OP will never forget to mark the pocket again.
 
Back
Top