Push Foul

TeeA

AzB Silver Member
Silver Member
Did a search but couldn't find a concise answer: can you foul ( resulting in ball in hand anywhere) doing a push out. Aside from the obvious, e.g., pushing into a pocket or leaving the table surface, is it possible?

In most events that include the push out option, most also require the shooter to shoot away from an unfrozen CB/OB. When doing so is an obvious double CB hit a ball in hand foul, or if frozen and pushing through on a push, can an obvious double hit foul be called?
 

victorl

Where'd my stroke go?
Silver Member
WPA rules make it clear... you don't need to hit the lowest ball first or a cushion after contact, but all other rules still apply, so a double-hit stroke would be a foul.

2.4 Second Shot of the Rack – Push Out
If no foul is committed on the break shot, the shooter may choose to play a “push out” as his shot. He must make his intention known to the referee, and then rules 6.2 Wrong Ball First and 6.3 No Rail after Contact are suspended for the shot. If no foul is committed on a push out, the other player chooses who will shoot next.
 

Shannon.spronk

Anybody read this?
Silver Member
Yes you must still shoot the ball legally. For example a double hit would be a foul resulting in ball in hand. Like victorl said they only two rules that are not part of the shot are lowest ball and rail after.
 
Top