Q Ball or All Ball Fouls on TV?

dedapr

Registered
On TV they talk about the rules of the match and they often say "Que Ball fouls Only" or "Foul on all Balls".

Can anyone explain what's the difference? What does this mean?

Thanks
 
dedapr said:
On TV they talk about the rules of the match and they often say "Que Ball fouls Only" or "Foul on all Balls".

Can anyone explain what's the difference? What does this mean?

Thanks


all Balls Fouls is if you touch or move any ball while in the act of shooting it is Ball in hand for your opponent or a FOUL!

Cue ball fouls mean if you touch the cue ball its a foul if you touch an object ball after the shot is over the refferee or the player has the option to move the ball or balls back to the original spot they occupied! :D
 
MrLucky said:
all Balls Fouls is if you touch or move any ball while in the act of shooting it is Ball in hand for your opponent or a FOUL!

Cue ball fouls mean if you touch the cue ball its a foul if you touch an object ball after the shot is over the refferee or the player has the option to move the ball or balls back to the original spot they occupied! :D


Your definition is absolutely correct. I just think it's absurd that they play "cue-ball fouls only" on television. Inherently, the "all-foul" rule should apply on television simply because there is a referee presiding over the match. "Cue-Ball Fouls Only" should only apply when the players must referee themselves.
 
MrLucky said:
all Balls Fouls is if you touch or move any ball while in the act of shooting it is Ball in hand for your opponent or a FOUL!

Cue ball fouls mean if you touch the cue ball its a foul if you touch an object ball after the shot is over the refferee or the player has the option to move the ball or balls back to the original spot they occupied! :D

Actually, this is not quite correct. Even when playing cue ball fouls, there are situations in which moving an object ball will always constitute a foul, the most fundamental of which are:

1) if you move a ball which you're jumping over as you execute the jump, it's a foul
2) if you move a ball you're masseing around as you execute the masse, it's a foul
3) if you move an object ball and the cue ball subsequently hits the ball you have moved, it's a foul

All ball fouls means that moving an object ball constitutes a foul regardless of the circumstances.
 
sjm said:
Actually, this is not quite correct. Even when playing cue ball fouls, there are situations in which moving an object ball will always constitute a foul, the most fundamental of which are:

1) if you move a ball which you're jumping over as you execute the jump, it's a foul
2) if you move a ball you're masseing around as you execute the masse, it's a foul
3) if you move an object ball and the cue ball subsequently hits the ball you have moved, it's a foul

All ball fouls means that moving an object ball constitutes a foul regardless of the circumstances.
actually those would be considered CUE ball fouls since the cue ball made contact ewith the opponents ball!!! :D
 
MrLucky said:
actually those would be considered CUE ball fouls since the cue ball made contact ewith the opponents ball!!! :D


Sorry Mr. Lucky, I think you misunderstood what SJM meant. Those are cue-ball fouls you failed to mention in your original post. That's all.
 
Jude Rosenstock said:
Sorry Mr. Lucky, I think you misunderstood what SJM meant. Those are cue-ball fouls you failed to mention in your original post. That's all.

I didn't misunderstand, I assumed that i made it clear enough to answer the original posters question without confusing him over the issue ! It is pretty standard that its a foul to hit your opponents ball with the cue in all league and tourny play without contacting your ball first! :confused:
 
MrLucky said:
I didn't misunderstand, I assumed that i made it clear enough to answer the original posters question without confusing him over the issue ! It is pretty standard that its a foul to hit your opponents ball with the cue in all league and tourny play without contacting your ball first! :confused:



Either you should quote EXACTLY what you are referring to (because I can't find it) or you should read that post a little closer because there is no reference to 8-ball OR "opponent's balls". SJM was referring to very specific rules regarding cue-ball fouls only. When masseing or jumping, you cannot touch an obstructing ball, otherwise it's a foul. When moving a ball, it cannot come into contact with any ball in play or have been moved away from any ball that was in play otherwise it's a foul.
 
I found it for you!!!!!

dedapr said:
On TV they talk about the rules of the match and they often say "Que Ball fouls Only" or "Foul on all Balls".

Can anyone explain what's the difference? What does this mean?

Thanks

This is the "original posters question for you to read, and what I was replying to in the first place!
:D

I would hope that when they are discussing the "rules" of a match on TV it is a tournament! :confused:
 
MrLucky said:
This is the "original posters question for you to read, and what I was replying to in the first place!
:D

I would hope that when they are discussing the "rules" of a match on TV it is a tournament! :confused:


Okay, I see where the confusion lies. SJM was referring to the cue STICK contacting an obstruction or putting an object ball in motion, not the cue-ball.
 
LOL! not a problem !

Jude Rosenstock said:
Okay, I see where the confusion lies. SJM was referring to the cue STICK contacting an obstruction or putting an object ball in motion, not the cue-ball.


No Problemo! I try and to be as clear and accurate as possible in answering someone without confusing them! :D
 
MrLucky said:
No Problemo! I try and to be as clear and accurate as possible in answering someone without confusing them! :D


No Mr. Lucky, I think you misunderstand. You were still wrong in your definition. You just didn't understand SJM. Under normal circumstances when playing cue-ball fouls only, you can hit another object ball with your cue STICK unless one of the following three things occurred:

1. You moved an obstruction during a masse
2. You moved an obstruction during a jump
3. Another ball in motion contacted the ball you moved or entered the space the ball originally occupied.

Under these three circumstances and ONLY under these circumstances, it is a foul to touch another object-ball under the cue-ball fouls only rule.
 
for the last time I was not answering SJM!!!

Jude Rosenstock said:
No Mr. Lucky, I think you misunderstand. You were still wrong in your definition. You just didn't understand SJM. Under normal circumstances when playing cue-ball fouls only, you can hit another object ball with your cue STICK unless one of the following three things occurred:

1. You moved an obstruction during a masse
2. You moved an obstruction during a jump
3. Another ball in motion contacted the ball you moved or entered the space the ball originally occupied.

Under these three circumstances and ONLY under these circumstances, it is a foul to touch another object-ball under the cue-ball fouls only rule.


HE / She did not read thye original question I was answring and interjected something into the question that was not asked !!!!!!! The original question aske "cue ball foul versus ALL ball foul ! simple question , and LOL! it required a simple answer ! I am not sure what your interest is in this anyway? :o :D :D :D

There is a principle in sales called KISS keep it simple stupid! :eek:
 
Last edited:
MrLucky said:
HE / She did not read thye original question I was answring and interjected something into the question that was not asked !!!!!!! The original question aske "cue ball foul versus ALL ball foul ! simple question , and LOL! it required a simple answer ! I am not sure what your interest is in this anyway? :o :D :D :D

You know what? I oringinally thought there was a misunderstanding that I was trying to clear up but as you've so readily pointed out, it's not. You're just stubborn. SJM was merely clarifying the rule and your responses have just caused unnecessary confusion. I think I'll take the advice you gave in your quote and just end this discussion here.
 
Jude Rosenstock said:
No Mr. Lucky, I think you misunderstand. You were still wrong in your definition. You just didn't understand SJM. Under normal circumstances when playing cue-ball fouls only, you can hit another object ball with your cue STICK unless one of the following three things occurred:

1. You moved an obstruction during a masse
2. You moved an obstruction during a jump
3. Another ball in motion contacted the ball you moved or entered the space the ball originally occupied.

Under these three circumstances and ONLY under these circumstances, it is a foul to touch another object-ball under the cue-ball fouls only rule.

Right, Jude, but you have, in fact, improved on my post, because your statement of exception #3 is more comprehensive of the rules governing that kind of situation. Thanks for the clarification.
 
Back
Top