Question about 14.1 break shot

smittie1984

AzB Silver Member
Silver Member
I'm in love with Straight Pool and 1pocket. But I noticed this.

In the rules if your break shot ball is outside the pack of the 14 balls you leave it. IF it is within the pack you put it at the front.

But what if it is outside the pack of balls but you can't rack without hitting the object ball.

Does it then go into the footspot?
 
The in the rack includes the rack (the triangle). If you cannot rack the remaining 14 balls without touching the last ball, it moves to the head spot.

WH
 
I concur. The 15th ball is not placed in the rack unless the cue ball occupies part of the head spot. Otherwise, the 15th object ball is placed on the head spot. As the other posters have noted, if you cannot rack the balls without disturbing the 15th ball, it is deemed to be in the rack and is therefore placed on the head spot.
 
Back
Top