Question about 9-ball (optional) rules

mattman

Registered User
Silver Member
A buddy and I were playing 9-ball the other night. Prior to the game starting we declared the rule that you must call the 9-ball before pocketing. We play a few games and everything is fine. My buddy breaks the balls and pockets the 9-ball in the corner pocket. I pull it out and place it on the spot. He argues and says that the 9-ball on the break is always a win. I so no, we are playing the "call the nine ball format" and you must call the pocket. He says there's no way to call the 9 on the break, so he wins. I say no...it's spotted.

If you anybody knows of a link that could prove this might be a help of him understanding this rule.

I will send him this link so he can see what YOU say...and yes, I know I am right and I want my 12 pack of beer.

Thanks,
Matt
 
I couldn't find a link to rules, but you're right. If you two agreed to call the 9 ball, then it only counts if you call the pocket, including the break.

At the International Challenge of Champions, they play call 9 ball rules, and if the breaker makes the 9 on the break, it gets spotted up and the person who broke continues to shoot.
 
You're right and get the 12 pack:thumbup: , unless you agreed to 9 on the break wins.
 
If you buddy called the nine ball on the break he wins. So, in effect you were correct. No call, no win.

I often call the head ball in the side pocket in 8-ball breaks, and make it about 35% of the time.
 
Call it means call it, on the break or otherwise. Why would you make a "call the 9" rule if you were going to count it as a win if it flukes in off the break? That's exactly the type of win that a "call the 9" rule is designed to avoid!

-Andrew
 
Unless you declared that 9 on the break is not a win unless called, it wins. It's only in recent times that it isn't a win. Call the 9 does not apply to the break unless you specify it.
 
Back
Top