Question

nasc

AzB Silver Member
Silver Member
I was playing 14:1 with a friend of mine yesterday. I attempted to pocket the 7 ball but it rattled in the corner pocket. I don't know how the ball did not drop, as it was so close to the edge. I took my seat, my opponent pocketed a ball on the other side of the table and the 7 dropped. No ball hit the 7 nor did my opponent brush the 7 as he was at the other end of the table. Is the 7 ball a point for him or does it get spotted? Is there a time to wait for a ball sitting on a precipice?
Thanks,
Glen
 
1.7 Balls Settling
A ball may settle slightly after it appears to have stopped, possibly due to slight imperfections in the ball or the table. Unless this causes a ball to fall into a pocket, it is considered a normal hazard of play, and the ball will not be moved back. If a ball falls into a pocket as the result of such settling, it is restored as closely as possible to its original position. If a settling ball falls into a pocket during or just prior to a shot, and this has an effect on the shot, the referee will restore the position and the shot will be replayed. The shooter is not penalized for shooting while a ball is settling.
 
To put that in plain English for you, that happens from time to time. If the ball falls in the pocket after a certain amount of time, it used to be a 5 second thing, then you just put it back as close to where it was as possible. Reading your story tells me that your situation calls for putting the ball back up where it was.
MULLY
 
mullyman said:
To put that in plain English for you, that happens from time to time. If the ball falls in the pocket after a certain amount of time, it used to be a 5 second thing, then you just put it back as close to where it was as possible. Reading your story tells me that your situation calls for putting the ball back up where it was.
MULLY

Thanks
Glen
 
Back
Top