I was asking someone this weekend about the rules, but I have more questions. I guess I'm just a little unsure of when you have the option to spot the object ball and shoot from behind the line. Actually, I saw this particular situation, and I'm wondering what was going on: Player 'a' shot the 1-ball, missed, but left his opponent hooked. There were some balls close to the spot, so player 'b' took the 1-ball and placed it on the spot, behind those balls, then gave the cue ball back to player 'a' to shoot with ball-in-hand behind the line. What just happened there, and does player 'a' *have* to shoot, or can he pass it back? 
