When two balls are touching each other, do you have to call a combination?
What if two balls are extremely close to each other
a: and one it your object ball, and one the oponents
b: both are your object ball
Eight ball and in general.[/QUOTE
According to most rules, any combination is not an obvious shot and must be called. Better to just go ahead and call all of them rather than have an argument after the shot.
Same applies to bank shots
When two balls are touching each other, do you have to call a combination?
What if two balls are extremely close to each other
a: and one it your object ball, and one the oponents
b: both are your object ball
Eight ball and in general.
Technically, you don't need to call a combination, just the ball you are going to pocket and the pocket it goes into.
Both situations are the same thing. This will only work in 8 ball, there is no opponents ball in other games commonly played except maybe cutthroat. In a, you will lose your turn either way, either giving up ball in hand for hitting the wrong group first, or just losing your turn for pocketing the other group (unless you call one of your balls and it goes in as well on the same shot)
It kinda sounds like you need to learn the full rules of some pool games.
...It kinda sounds like you need to learn the full rules of some pool games...
ergo the question lol
I guess to clarify. I think what I am referring to is generally knows as a "split shot". Two balls hit simultaneously. Is this generally legal?
Again either two of your balls, or one of each in eight ball. Or say you are shooting the 3 ball, but it is touching the 6 ball and the only way to pocket the three is to simultaneously hit both.
In APA 8 ball rules it is not even mentioned. In WPA it says its a legal shot. What is the rule in a professional setting or in general, or is it just a sometimes legal, sometimes not situation.
I guess to clarify. I think what I am referring to is generally knows as a "split shot". Two balls hit simultaneously. Is this generally legal?
Again either two of your balls, or one of each in eight ball. Or say you are shooting the 3 ball, but it is touching the 6 ball and the only way to pocket the three is to simultaneously hit both.
In APA 8 ball rules it is not even mentioned. In WPA it says its a legal shot. What is the rule in a professional setting or in general, or is it just a sometimes legal, sometimes not situation.
Ah, that's not a combination. If it can't be fairly obviously seen what was hit first, it's considered a good hit.