Rule Q

pocket

AzB Silver Member
Silver Member
When two balls are touching each other, do you have to call a combination?

What if two balls are extremely close to each other
a: and one it your object ball, and one the oponents
b: both are your object ball

Eight ball and in general.
 
When two balls are touching each other, do you have to call a combination?

What if two balls are extremely close to each other
a: and one it your object ball, and one the oponents
b: both are your object ball

Eight ball and in general.[/QUOTE

According to most rules, any combination is not an obvious shot and must be called. Better to just go ahead and call all of them rather than have an argument after the shot.

Same applies to bank shots
 
When two balls are touching each other, do you have to call a combination?

What if two balls are extremely close to each other
a: and one it your object ball, and one the oponents
b: both are your object ball

Eight ball and in general.

Technically, you don't need to call a combination, just the ball you are going to pocket and the pocket it goes into.

Both situations are the same thing. This will only work in 8 ball, there is no opponents ball in other games commonly played except maybe cutthroat. In a, you will lose your turn either way, either giving up ball in hand for hitting the wrong group first, or just losing your turn for pocketing the other group (unless you call one of your balls and it goes in as well on the same shot)

It kinda sounds like you need to learn the full rules of some pool games.
 
...It kinda sounds like you need to learn the full rules of some pool games...

ergo the question lol
 
Unless you are playing by those weird bar rules where you have to call every hit and kiss,
the standardized 8-ball rules say that you only need to call the object ball and the pocket. How it gets there doesn't need to be called whatsoever.
 
Technically, you don't need to call a combination, just the ball you are going to pocket and the pocket it goes into.

Both situations are the same thing. This will only work in 8 ball, there is no opponents ball in other games commonly played except maybe cutthroat. In a, you will lose your turn either way, either giving up ball in hand for hitting the wrong group first, or just losing your turn for pocketing the other group (unless you call one of your balls and it goes in as well on the same shot)

It kinda sounds like you need to learn the full rules of some pool games.

But the same rules also say that obvious shots do not have to be called but that banks and combinations are never obvious and the ball and pocket need to be called.

I surely agree that anyone playing above the banger level should read and thoroughly understand the rules.

I had a shot just today in 8 ball where one of my balls was blocking half of a side pocket. I could not hit it directly so I played a combo with another of my balls. Unfortunately for me the wrong ball went in. Had I not called the shot, I could have easily claimed that I was playing the ball I made

From BCAPL rules

2. CALL SHOT. In Call Shot, obvious balls and pockets do not have to be indicated. It is the opponent's right to ask which ball and pocket if he is unsure of the shot. Bank shots and combination shots are not considered obvious, and care should be taken in calling both the object ball and the intended pocket. When calling the shot, it is NEVER necessary to indicate details such as the number of cushions, banks, kisses, caroms, etc. Any balls pocketed on a foul remain pocketed, regardless of whether they belong to the shoo
"
 
...It kinda sounds like you need to learn the full rules of some pool games...

ergo the question lol

I meant more than just this question, the way you asked it looks to imply you have some misunderstanding about the rules, probably through just playing with others that half know the rules but not the real rules. Find a place with good players and watch/play with them, do NOT try to pick up rules at your local bar from players that play by random rules.
 
I guess to clarify. I think what I am referring to is generally knows as a "split shot". Two balls hit simultaneously. Is this generally legal?

Again either two of your balls, or one of each in eight ball. Or say you are shooting the 3 ball, but it is touching the 6 ball and the only way to pocket the three is to simultaneously hit both.

In APA 8 ball rules it is not even mentioned. In WPA it says its a legal shot. What is the rule in a professional setting or in general, or is it just a sometimes legal, sometimes not situation.
 
I guess to clarify. I think what I am referring to is generally knows as a "split shot". Two balls hit simultaneously. Is this generally legal?

Again either two of your balls, or one of each in eight ball. Or say you are shooting the 3 ball, but it is touching the 6 ball and the only way to pocket the three is to simultaneously hit both.

In APA 8 ball rules it is not even mentioned. In WPA it says its a legal shot. What is the rule in a professional setting or in general, or is it just a sometimes legal, sometimes not situation.

The rule in question is that you have to hit your ball first. So if they're both your balls, you have no worries and just call the right ball in the right pocket. If one is yours and one is your opponent's you'll probably get into arguments with people as to which ball was hit first. :wink:

I believe some rules state that if it's a truly simultaneous hit the shooter gets the benefit of the doubt.
 
I guess to clarify. I think what I am referring to is generally knows as a "split shot". Two balls hit simultaneously. Is this generally legal?

Again either two of your balls, or one of each in eight ball. Or say you are shooting the 3 ball, but it is touching the 6 ball and the only way to pocket the three is to simultaneously hit both.

In APA 8 ball rules it is not even mentioned. In WPA it says its a legal shot. What is the rule in a professional setting or in general, or is it just a sometimes legal, sometimes not situation.

Ah, that's not a combination. If it can't be fairly obviously seen what was hit first, it's considered a good hit.
 
Back
Top