Rule question 9-ball

Kurt

AzB Silver Member
Silver Member
So my friends and I were discussing this and couldn't figure it out.

Let's say the 9-ball is sitting in the pocket, the 1-ball is right in front of it, for an easy win. You're shooting on the 1-ball, but the cue ball is frozen behind the 6-ball across the other side of the table. It's really difficult to hit the 1-ball or the 9-ball from this position. You don't want to miss and give your opponent ball in hand, because he's got an easy combo for the win.

What would happen if you just went over to the one ball and hit it with your cue stick, pocketing the one. Or, pocketing the 9-ball directly with your cue stick.

I know some tournaments are run with cue ball only fouls, and some tournaments are run with all ball fouls, so how would this play out with both of those rule sets? Is it an automatic loss of game if you just go over to the other side of the table and move the 1-ball or 9-ball with your cue stick directly?
 
It would most likely be considered unsportsmanlike conduct and result in loss of game or match.

*edit* Or the shorter answer, in a tournament, you'd prolly get you a** kicked. lol jk but seriously.
 
It would be a flagrant foul. For tournaments where there are lots of new players with limited knowledge of the rules I would replace any illegally pocketed balls and warn them the next time it would be loss of game. The cue ball must always be struck first.
 
whoa.....early morning here....I meant to say only the cue ball may be struck with the tip of the cue stick. Never an object ball.
 
I asked this a couple months ago on here and it is in fact unsportsman like which equates to loss of game. Supposedly, depending on the tournament, a ref could deem it loss of match.
 
dont know official rules. But in our sunday tourny. If u you move a ball, the other player gets to put it back if they want. You havent taken a shot yet.
Like someone said, the cue ball must be struck first,
 
dont know official rules. But in our sunday tourny. If u you move a ball, the other player gets to put it back if they want. You havent taken a shot yet.
Like someone said, the cue ball must be struck first,

That sounds more like an accidental touching off a ball with your hand or cue which, like you said shouldn't warrant a foul unless playing foul on all balls. As opposed to the example here of purposely and directing cueing at an object ball and altering the game.
 
Rules are clear on this: unsportmanlike conduct = loss of game/match (decision by referee)
 
with out the benifit of quite knowing what the layout of the table... and yes i reilize what i'm about to suggest is also kind of a dick move (and maybe against the rules) why not just shoot the 6 (yes i know it would be a foul keep reading) in to the 1 and pocket the nine thus bringing the 9 back up on the foot spot....
 
with out the benifit of quite knowing what the layout of the table... and yes i reilize what i'm about to suggest is also kind of a dick move (and maybe against the rules) why not just shoot the 6 (yes i know it would be a foul keep reading) in to the 1 and pocket the nine thus bringing the 9 back up on the foot spot....

If you hit the cue ball into the 6, into the 1 and pocket the 9- the 9 would spot and is the other player shot with ball in hand. If you hit the 6 into the 1 into the 9 , loss of game......Ron
 
If you hit the cue ball into the 6, into the 1 and pocket the 9- the 9 would spot and is the other player shot with ball in hand. If you hit the 6 into the 1 into the 9 , loss of game......Ron

I had to go back and re read what i posted to realize that I wasn't quite as clear as I wanted to be. What I was trying to convey was cue ball to 6 to 1 to 9 in pocket with the understanding its a foul but.... your preventing your opponent from getting a gimmie 1- 9 combo
 
I had to go back and re read what i posted to realize that I wasn't quite as clear as I wanted to be. What I was trying to convey was cue ball to 6 to 1 to 9 in pocket with the understanding its a foul but.... your preventing your opponent from getting a gimmie 1- 9 combo

Yes, I would have tried this, but the cue ball was in such a position whereas it was impossible to hit the 6 into the 1 ball or the 9 ball. A three rail kick shot was the only way, it seemed, to contact the 1 or the 9 ball.
 
Official BCAPL response

In BCAPL play, UC per BCAPL Applied Ruling 1.45/1.1 paragraph 3.

The penalty is at the discretion of the referee, but I would question the judgment of any referee that would not award loss of game at a minimum.

:smile:
Buddy Eick
BCAPL National Head Referee
BCAPL Director of Referee Training
Technical Editor, BCAPL Rule Book
bcapl_referee@cox.net

Find the Official Rules of the BCA Pool League here:

http://www.playbca.com/Downloads/Rulebook/CompleteRulebook/tabid/372/Default.aspx

* The contents of this post refer to BCA Pool League (BCAPL) Rules only. The BCAPL National Office has authorized me to act in an official capacity regarding questions about BCAPL Rules matters in public forums.
* Neither I nor any BCAPL referee make any policy decisions regarding BCAPL Rules. Any and all decisions, interpretations, or Applied Rulings are made by the BCAPL National Office and are solely their responsibility. BCAPL referees are enforcers of rules, not legislators. BCAPL Rules 9.5.3 and 9.5.4 and the BCAPL Rules "Statement of Principles" apply.
* No reference to, inference concerning, or comment on any other set of rules (WPA, APA, VNEA, TAP, or any other set of rules, public or private) is intended or should be derived from this post unless specifically stated.
* For General Rules, 8-Ball, 9-Ball, 10-Ball, and 14.1 Continuous: there is no such thing as "BCA Rules" other than in the sense that the Billiard Congress of America (BCA) publishes various rules, including the World Pool-Billiard Association's "World Standardized Rules" for those games. The BCA does not edit, nor is responsible for the content of, the World Standardized Rules. The Official Rules of the BCAPL is a separate and independent set of rules and, to avoid confusion, should not be referred to as "BCA Rules".
* Since 2004, there is no such thing as a "BCA Referee". The BCA no longer has any program to train, certify or sanction billiards referees or officials.
* The BCAPL has no association with the Billiard Congress of America other than in their capacity as a member of the BCA. The letters "BCA" in BCAPL do not stand for "Billiard Congress of America, nor for anything at all.
* The BCAPL has not addressed every imaginable rules issue, nor will it ever likely be able to, as evidenced by the seemingly endless situations that people dream up or that (more frequently) actually happen. If I do not have the answer to a question I will tell you so, then I will get a ruling from the BCAPL National Office and get back to you as soon as I can. If deemed necessary, the BCAPL will then add the ruling to the "Applied Rulings" section of The Official Rules of the BCA Pool League.
* All BCAPL members are, as always, encouraged to e-mail Bill Stock at the BCAPL National Office, bill@playcsi.com, with any comments, concerns or suggestions about the BCAPL rules.
 
Back
Top