rule question

mikeiniowa

AzB Silver Member
Silver Member
I run a very big weekly tourney in Des Moines, Iowa and this came up last week. Player A is hooked by the five ball. He can only kick 2 rails to hit the 3. He is shooting away from the obstructing ball. He makes a good hit on the object ball but his opponant calls a foul because his stick contacted the five ball(obstructiong ball) before, during the shot. They came to me for the call. I will say what I did after I hear some of your answers.

Mike Athens
 
mikeiniowa said:
.... before, during the shot.

Mike Athens


I'm not sure what you mean by this Mike....

Don't you have a rule book handy for situations like this?

In a 'cue ball only' foul tournament, the only time a moved object ball can be ruled a foul, is if the path of the moved ball would have interferred with the cue or object ball.

There are exceptions with balls near or frozen to, Masse and Jump shots.
 
Foul???

Mike,

Foul on all ballls?...if not non shooters option to replace ball back to original position or let it lay...???
 
mikeiniowa said:
I run a very big weekly tourney in Des Moines, Iowa and this came up last week. Player A is hooked by the five ball. He can only kick 2 rails to hit the 3. He is shooting away from the obstructing ball. He makes a good hit on the object ball but his opponant calls a foul because his stick contacted the five ball(obstructiong ball) before, during the shot. They came to me for the call. I will say what I did after I hear some of your answers.

Mike Athens

Not enough information...

Did the 5 ball being moved have any effect on the path of the CB or any other moving balls, and would the 5-ball have been contacted by another ball had it been left in its origonal spot?

If the rule is CB fouls only and the above did not happen then its no foul, but the non-shooting player has the option of leaving the ball where it lays, or can have him move the ball back to an agreeable spot.

If its a all balls foul rule.....then well....its foul...
 
thanks for all the quick replies

a rule book? I don't even look at map when I leave town. ;)

Yes we play only cue ball fouls. the five ball did not come into play with the results. I thought there was a rule that if the obstructing ball moved it was a foul regardless if you were shooting away from the ball or not. I think now I may have been mistaken.
I did think it was funny the players in question were asking for my call after the fact as these two players have won big tourneys ( windy city, orlando open, memphis open) and asked the best bar box player in the country(see the best bar box thread and figure that out) for the answer too and did not like his answer. They ended up flipping for it and player A was not a happy camper the rest of the night.

A gold star who can figure the 3 players in question.

mike athens


Tom In Cincy said:
I'm not sure what you mean by this Mike....

Don't you have a rule book handy for situations like this?

In a 'cue ball only' foul tournament, the only time a moved object ball can be ruled a foul, is if the path of the moved ball would have interferred with the cue or object ball.

There are exceptions with balls near or frozen to, Masse and Jump shots.
 
mikeiniowa said:
I run a very big weekly tourney in Des Moines, Iowa and this came up last week. Player A is hooked by the five ball. He can only kick 2 rails to hit the 3. He is shooting away from the obstructing ball. He makes a good hit on the object ball but his opponant calls a foul because his stick contacted the five ball(obstructiong ball) before, during the shot. They came to me for the call. I will say what I did after I hear some of your answers.

Mike Athens
My call would be: No foul.* Non-shooting player's option to replace the moved ball. (*unless the other balls travel where the 5 ball was, or contacts the 5 where it moved to*)

My question is: if you run the tourney, why don't the players already know if the "all fouls rule" or "cue ball fouls only rule" is in effect? This is one of the most important rules at any tourney...

-td
 
There are some places that play CB fouls only, but if you are cueing "over" another ball and you touch it before during or after the stroke, its considered a foul....

Shooting away from the OB is a different story....

In this case did the person hit the 5-ball before he hit the CB??

This could be considered a foul as the outcome of the shot was changed by the moved 5-ball.........If the person stopped and declared that he bumped the 5-ball and asked if it needed to be moved back before he continued to shoot the CB then it would not have been a foul....Also if the CB was struck first and then the side of his shaft hit the 5-ball on the way up...thats not a foul...

(This is just my opinion)
 
mikeiniowa said:
[..]

I did think it was funny the players in question were asking for my call after the fact as these two players have won big tourneys ( windy city, orlando open, memphis open) and asked the best bar box player in the country(see the best bar box thread and figure that out) for the answer too and did not like his answer. They ended up flipping for it and player A was not a happy camper the rest of the night.

A gold star who can figure the 3 players in question.

mike athens


[/B][/SIZE]

I haven't read the other thread, but I'll go with Jesse Bowman, Chad Vilmont, and Jamie Baraks ???.
 
2 out 3 aint bad.
and yes we play only CB fouls and everybody knows it. I thought this was a spec. situation. It was the obstcting ball.
 
Back
Top