This weekend, I was playing someone that I hardly know and we're matched up for a decent amount of $$ (<$500).
It's 3-3 and he goes to break, but on his stroke, he barely hits the cue ball and doesn't get all the way to the rack.
What do the rules say about this? I know in APA, which is a joke, say that you can re-break, and BCA says a miscue on the break is passed to the opponent. However, I don't see this as a miscue. Where does this fall under? Does he break again? Do I take over?
Just wanted to clarify. My reasoning was that once you set the cue and you're down on the shot, if you touch the cue ball and it goes past the kitchen line, it's a foul and it's my break. I wanted to make sure I'm correct, because if I'm wrong, I owe him an apology.
Thanks!
It's 3-3 and he goes to break, but on his stroke, he barely hits the cue ball and doesn't get all the way to the rack.
What do the rules say about this? I know in APA, which is a joke, say that you can re-break, and BCA says a miscue on the break is passed to the opponent. However, I don't see this as a miscue. Where does this fall under? Does he break again? Do I take over?
Just wanted to clarify. My reasoning was that once you set the cue and you're down on the shot, if you touch the cue ball and it goes past the kitchen line, it's a foul and it's my break. I wanted to make sure I'm correct, because if I'm wrong, I owe him an apology.
Thanks!