I was playing in a match and my opponent was shooting. The object ball he was shooting at was frozen to the rail. Once he shot, the cue ball made contact with the object ball that was frozen to the rail, then the cue ball hit the rail that the object ball was frozen to, then the cue ball came to a stop in the middle of the table without any other ball hitting another rail.
I thought that it was a "Good Hit" because the cue ball hit a rail after making contact with his object ball (even though the rail was the rail that the object ball was frozen to).
He grabbed the cue ball and said that I had ball in hand because he said that the object ball was "part of the rail" because it was frozen. Therefore, the cue ball or any other ball would have had to hit another rail.
Here is the actual rule from the TAP rule book:
"Ball Frozen to the Rail
This occurs when an object ball is touching the rail and becomes part of the rail. The opponent must declare the ball frozen before the shot is executed. If the intended object ball is frozen the shooter must do one or all of the following: (1) have the cue ball touch a rail after contacting the intended ball; (2) drive the intended ball to another rail; or (3) drive any other ball to a rail after contacting the intended ball. Remember, the match belongs to the two players. Teammates and coaches can be charged a time out for any assistance."
Although I benefitted from his interpretation of the rules, I honestly thought that he made a good hit and would have just shot from where the cue ball stopped. It ended up costing him the game and I won the match.
I thought that it was a "Good Hit" because the cue ball hit a rail after making contact with his object ball (even though the rail was the rail that the object ball was frozen to).
He grabbed the cue ball and said that I had ball in hand because he said that the object ball was "part of the rail" because it was frozen. Therefore, the cue ball or any other ball would have had to hit another rail.
Here is the actual rule from the TAP rule book:
"Ball Frozen to the Rail
This occurs when an object ball is touching the rail and becomes part of the rail. The opponent must declare the ball frozen before the shot is executed. If the intended object ball is frozen the shooter must do one or all of the following: (1) have the cue ball touch a rail after contacting the intended ball; (2) drive the intended ball to another rail; or (3) drive any other ball to a rail after contacting the intended ball. Remember, the match belongs to the two players. Teammates and coaches can be charged a time out for any assistance."
Although I benefitted from his interpretation of the rules, I honestly thought that he made a good hit and would have just shot from where the cue ball stopped. It ended up costing him the game and I won the match.