Rules question

Skess

Another sidearmer...
Silver Member
The cueball is frozen to an object ball. Is it a legal hit to roll the cueball through the object ball to the rail? The object ball would barely move at all.

Or do I have to bring a 3rd ball into the equation?

I couldn't find a clear explanation for this in the rules I have.
 
If I understand the question correctly, then yes it is legal as long as you do not use a push shot stroke, and the object ball moves before the cue ball hits the rail.
 
If the object ball clearly moves off its original base , even if it rolls back (it moved), then it is a legal safe going to the rail with the CB.
 
Skess said:
The cueball is frozen to an object ball. Is it a legal hit to roll the cueball through the object ball to the rail? The object ball would barely move at all.

Or do I have to bring a 3rd ball into the equation?

I couldn't find a clear explanation for this in the rules I have.

If the object ball moves just a fraction, then you have made a legal hit to that object ball. If the object ball doesn't move, the cueball hasn't contacted it. After the cueball starts moving, all normal rules apply. So you have to move the object ball to make a legal hit without the 3rd ball.

And yes, you can shoot through the object ball.
 
Back
Top