Rules Question???

woody_968

BRING BACK 14.1
Silver Member
It seems like there was some discussion about this shot a while back but I cant find the thread and I dont remember what Purdy and some of the others had to say about it

http://endeavor.med.nyu.edu/~wei/pool/pooltable2.html

START(
%Ar8V4%Pq4V4%]p1V4%^a1V5

)END

The shot is the one where you place the tip UNDER the edge of the cueball and raise the tip upward clipping the cueball causing the one to go to the rail and keeping the balls in their original positions (or close to it). Is this still considered a legal shot or has something changed?

Thanks,

Woody
 
woody_968 said:
[...]

The shot is the one where you place the tip UNDER the edge of the cueball and raise the tip upward clipping the cueball causing the one to go to the rail and keeping the balls in their original positions (or close to it). Is this still considered a legal shot or has something changed?

Thanks,

Woody

Bob Jewett had this to say in RSB in April 2003:

According to recent and specific BCA rulings, this exact shot --
lifting the stick to get contact -- is a foul. *The reason given
is that this is not a normal forward stroke of the cue stick.
Unless something has changed in the last year, a referee under
the BCA rules must call a foul for this shot. *My conclusion is
that they weren't playing by BCA rules. *(Or, those present
do not know about the ruling.)
 
5railkick said:
you can actually pocket the one ball by aiming staight at the it, with left english and pushing thru

is this when the two balls are touching each other, if so then if they are touching then you can shoot a normal straight follow thru stroke and pocket the ball but if they are not touching a like a tip apart then you have to elevate your cue and stroke downwards. Sorry if i am off topic here. Cole.
 
TheConArtist said:
is this when the two balls are touching each other, if so then if they are touching then you can shoot a normal straight follow thru stroke and pocket the ball but if they are not touching a like a tip apart then you have to elevate your cue and stroke downwards. Sorry if i am off topic here. Cole.

I assumed they were frozen to each other and frozen to the rail, sorry.

Still a neat shot though!!!
 
mikepage said:
Bob Jewett had this to say in RSB in April 2003:

According to recent and specific BCA rulings, this exact shot --
lifting the stick to get contact -- is a foul. *The reason given
is that this is not a normal forward stroke of the cue stick.
Unless something has changed in the last year, a referee under
the BCA rules must call a foul for this shot. *My conclusion is
that they weren't playing by BCA rules. *(Or, those present
do not know about the ruling.)

I thought I had heard something like that. This didnt happen in a recent game, just wanting some info incase it came up in the future.

Anyone know if this has been delt with in any of the rule books, or any solid info to show this could be called a foul?
 
5railkick said:
you can actually pocket the one ball by aiming staight at the it, with left english and pushing thru


I just placed the balls on the table at random, didnt mean for it to set up so close to the shot your talking about. Normally for the shot Im talking about the balls wouldnt be frozen, just close together.

On a side note, if the balls were frozen and touching the cushion I dont think you could shoot the shot you are talking about (pushing the shot) as with the balls against the rail it would make the tip stay on the cueball longer than normal and would be considered a foul. Sorry I dont remember the exact terms they use for this instance right now and Im too tired to look it up :)

If the balls are frozen together and away from the rail then the other poster is correct, you can shoot through them like a nomral shot.
 
Back
Top